History 1810E - Wars That Changed the World: World War II

Contains more than 1,700 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of World War II, the events and developments of the era, and myriad related subjects. Also includes a collection of documents relating to WWII. Provides a clear understanding of the causes of World War II, exploring WWI and the role of the Western democracies in the origins of WWII. Examines home front developments in major countries during the war, such as race and gender relations in the United States. Explores the important roles played by women in WWII, and describes how the United States mobilized its economy and citizenry for total war. Discusses the Holocaust and establishes responsibility for this genocide.

Provides an overview of the most important events, people, and terms associated with warfare, from the Punic Wars to the War on Terror. Includes 100 black and white photographs, along with numerous maps.

The Holocaust as event and idea has reached and influenced every corner of the world: from history and politics to religion and culture; from the Nazi apparatus to the racist ideas (and ideologies) that fueled it; from chronicles of mass destruction to tales of resistance and rebellion. All of these aspects (and indeed almost every aspect) are covered here in original signed articles, current in scholarship and easily readable.

This definitive reference work covers the complete transformation of American, Canadian, and British societies during the two world wars, including all aspects of working, recreational, and cultural life during wartime. The Home Front Encyclopedia: United States, Britain, and Canada in World Wars I and II is the first scholarly work devoted exclusively to the utter transformation of American, Canadian, and British societies in those pivotal years.

This volume details an extraordinary number of facts and figures on the most destructive war in modern history.