Excellent entries on various aspects of European history from 1450 to 1789. Each entry is written by a recognized scholar, and covers major topics in art, government, and education and provides biographical entries on key figures.
Examines the entire range of religious and social changes brought about by the Reformation throughout Europe. Includes entries on church governance and theology, as well as related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature. Contains more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries that range from brief biographical sketches to essays on major topics and people of the 16th century.
For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Reader's Guide to British History website. The Reader's Guide to British History is the essential source to secondary material on British history. This resource contains over 1,000 A-Z entries on the history of Britain, from ancient and Roman Britain to the present day. Each entry lists 6-12 of the best-known books on the subject, then discusses those works in an essay of 800 to 1,000 words prepared by an expert in the field. The essays provide advice on the range and depth of coverage as well as the emphasis and point of view espoused in each publication.
This is the first encyclopedia to be devoted entirely to Tudor England. 700 entries by top scholars in every major field combine new modes of archival research with a detailed Tudor chronology and appendix of biographical essays. Entries include: * Edward Alleyn [actor/theatre manager] * Roger Ascham * Bible translation * cloth trade * Devereux family * Espionage * Family of Love * food and diet * James Hepburn, Earl of Bothwell * inns * Ket's Rebellion * John Lyly * mapmaking * Frances Meres * miniature painting * Pavan * Pilgrimage of Grace * Revels Office * Ridolfi plot * Lady Mary Sidney, Countess of Pembroke * treason * and much more. Also includes an 8-page color insert.