Selected Digital Primary Sources
Selected Primary Sources for History 2403E
Primary sources are documents or physical objects written or created during the time under study. Such sources were present during an experience or time period, and offer an inside view of a particular event.
Types of primary sources include: original documents (e.g. diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, memoirs, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records); creative works (e.g. poetry, drama, novels, music, art); and relics or artifacts (e.g. pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings).
Selected primary sources of particular interest to students in History 2403E are held in The James Alexander and Ellen Rea Benson Special Collections (located in Archives and Special Collections). You may also find secondary sources in the Reference Collection (located on the main floor of The D.B. Weldon Library) useful in your research.
A pdf listing detailed subjects, titles, and call numbers of particular interest to History 2403E sources is hyperlinked next to the red icon.
Please note that Benson Special Collections is open to the public during the September to April academic year from 10:00 am until 4:30 pm, Monday to Friday. There are no evening or weekend hours of service.
For information on accessing and using the resources of Benson Special Collections, please read the guidelines. You can also contact Archives staff by email at email@example.com, or call 519-661-4046 (or extension x84046).
Please note that materials from the Benson Special Collections should be requested prior to your visit, and that all materials are non-circulating.