The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) can be used to cite sources in any faculty or subject. The most recent version is the 17th edition. Chicago style can be applied in two different ways, the Author-Date style, and the Notes-Bibliography style. This guide will focus on the Notes-Bibliography style.
Notes are formatted by placing a superscripted number in the text each time you reference a source. Each superscript corresponds to either an endnote or footnote with the citation information for that source.
Endnotes are placed at the end of your paper. Footnotes are placed at the end of each page. Either is acceptable. The first time you reference a specific source in your paper, the corresponding note should contain the full citation information. Each time you refer to the same source after that, you can include a shortened note instead.
You must also include a bibliography at the end of your paper. The bibliography is an alphabetized list of all the sources you referenced throughout your paper.
This guide contains some selected examples of business-related citations in Chicago style. For further information on using CMOS 17th edition, including examples of other source types, please see the resources linked below.
Full Note: Colgate, “Mr. Cool”, television advertisement, 1994, accessed March 4 2024, https://iaddb.org/?query=search=ccobjectid=113240&showtype=record.
Shortened Note: Colgate, “Mr. Cool”, television advertisement.
Bibliography Entry: Colgate, “Mr. Cool”, television advertisement, 1994, accessed March 4 2024, https://iaddb.org/?query=search=ccobjectid=113240&showtype=record.
Full Note: Proctor & Gamble Co. ,“New Shampoo Startles the Country With Its Beautifying Results”, Ad*Access, 1937, http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess_BH0397/.
Shortened Note: Proctor & Gamble Co., “New Shampoo Startles”, 1937
Bibliography Entry: Proctor & Gamble Co. ,“New Shampoo Startles the Country With Its Beautifying Results”, Ad*Access, 1937, http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess_BH0397/.
In this example “15-33” refers to page numbers. Only use this if you are citing a specific page or range of pages. If you are citing the entire document, omit the page numbers.
Full Note: Canadian Tire Corporation, “2012 Annual Report”, 15-33, accessed March 4 2024, http://corp.canadiantire.ca/EN/Investors/FinancialReports/Annual%20Reports%20Library/CTC_AR_2012.pdf.
Shortened Note: Canadian Tire, “2012 Annual Report”, 15-33
Bibliography Entry: Canadian Tire Corporation, “2012 Annual Report”, 15-33, accessed March 4 2024, http://corp.canadiantire.ca/EN/Investors/FinancialReports/Annual%20Reports%20Library/CTC_AR_2012.pdf.
Full Note: “Beta for General Motors 07/01/2011 to 07/01/2013”, accessed March 4 2024, Bloomberg.
Shortened Note: “Beta for General Motors”, Bloomberg.
Bibliography Entry: “Beta for General Motors 07/01/2011 to 07/01/2013”, accessed March 4 2024, Bloomberg.
Full Note: Mergent, “Apple Inc. General company information report”, accessed March 4 2024, https://www.lib.uwo.ca/cgi-bin/ezpauthn.cgi?url=http://www.mergentonline.com/.
Shortened Note: Mergent, “Apple Inc.”.
Bibliography Entry: Mergent, “Apple Inc. General company information report”, accessed March 4 2024, https://www.lib.uwo.ca/cgi-bin/ezpauthn.cgi?url=http://www.mergentonline.com/.
Full Note: Economist Intelligence Unit, “One Click Report: India”, (February 2024), accessed March 4 2024, https://viewpoint.eiu.com/analysis/geography/XO/IN/reports/one-click-report.
Shortened Note: Economist Intelligence Unit, “India”.
Bibliography Entry: Economist Intelligence Unit, “One Click Report: India”, (February 2024), accessed March 4 2024, https://viewpoint.eiu.com/analysis/geography/XO/IN/reports/one-click-report.
Full note: John Doe (industry professional), interview by Calvin Smith, September 15 2023.
Shortened Note: John Doe, interview, September 15, 2023.
Bibliography Entry: Doe, John (industry professional), interview by Calvin Smith, September 15 2023.
Full Note: Royal Bank of Canada, “Prospectus supplement”, September 5, 2013, accessed March 4 2024, http://www.sedar.com/.
Shortened Note: Royal Bank of Canada, “Prospectus Supplement”.
Bibliography Entry: Royal Bank of Canada, “Prospectus supplement”, September 5, 2013, accessed March 4 2024, http://www.sedar.com/.
Full Note: Statistics Canada, “Detailed Household Final Consumption Expenditure, Provincial and Territorial”, 2011 Census, accessed March 4 2024, http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/cansim/a26?lang=eng&retrLang=eng&id=3840041&tabMode=dataTable&srchLan=-1&p1=-1&p2=35.
Shortened Note: Statistics Canada, “Detailed Household Final Consumption”, 2011 Census.
Bibliography Entry: Statistics Canada, “Detailed Household Final Consumption Expenditure, Provincial and Territorial”, 2011 Census, accessed March 4 2024, http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/cansim/a26?lang=eng&retrLang=eng&id=3840041&tabMode=dataTable&srchLan=-1&p1=-1&p2=35.
