The following list includes writer's papers available for consultation and research by contacting Western Libraries Archives and Special Collections. Materials range widely in extent and scope including some with detailed finding aids. For those without finding aids, box or series lists may be available. Click on the links below to explore the available finding aids or visit the ASC website to arrange access to these materials.
Dates of creation: 1907-1977
Scope & Content: Myrtle Reynolds Adams (1889-1977) was a local teacher, poet and professional writer. The fonds includes personal papers, correspondence, chapbooks, writings, research notes, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Description: AFC 258 Finding Aid
Dates of creation: 1978-2012
Scope & Content: Joan Louise Barfoot (1946- ) is an award-winning Canadian novelist and Western alumna. Literary materials include e-records and emails including correspondence, publishing records and photographs.
Description: Inventory List available
Dates of creation: 1798-1990
Scope & Content: Dr. Richard Maurice Bucke (1837-1902) was a noted London ON, medical doctor and writer who became close friends with Walt Whitman. Fonds includes correspondence, manuscripts, articles, poems and other materials related to Bucke's studies, work and personal life.
Descripton: AFC 203 Finding Aid
* Note: Draft manuscript of chapter 8 of Cosmic Consciousness by Dr. R.M. Bucke in AFC 117 Eleanor B. Sherman fonds.
Dates of creation : 1968-2015
Scope & Content: Barry Curtis Butson (1941-2018) was a Southwest Ontario educator, poet and writer as well as a Western alumnus. Literary materials include notebooks, manuscripts and correspondence.
Description: Inventory list available
Dates of creation: 1984-2016
Scope & Content: Emma Donoghue is an award-winning Canadian novelist, playwright and screenwriter. The fonds includes materials related to Donoghue's literary career including manuscripts, drafts, journals, correspondence, clippings, photographs and audio visual material.
Description: AFC 386 Finding Aid
*Note: some restrictions
Dates of creation: 1953-2013
Scope & Content: Don Gutteridge, professor Emeritus at Western University, is a notable Canadian poet and fiction writer. Included in the fonds are literary manuscripts, correspondence and other personal records.
Description: Inventory list available
Dates of Creation: 1949-2018 (Predominant 1984-2004)
Scope & Content: Isabel Huggan (1943- ) is an award-winning Canadian author of fiction and essays as well as a Western alumna. The fonds consists of manuscripts, drafts, research notes and correspondence related to her short stories, poems and other writings as well as financial, travel and personal records relating to her academic and professional career.
Description: AFC 453 Finding Aid
*Note: some restrictions
Dates of creation: 1881-1882
Scope & Content: Emily Pauline Johnson, also known as Tekahionwake, (1861-1913) was a notable Canadian author and poet of indigenous heritage and a key figure in the definition of Canadian literature. Materials consist of 7 pages of correspondence from Johnson to her friend Charlotte (Lottie) Jones.
Description: Inventory list available
Dates of creation: 1999-2018
Scope & Content: Penn Kemp (1944- ) is a London, ON based poet, playwright, performer, editor, educator and Western alumna. Materials include personal and professional correspondence, manuscripts, drafts, proofs, recordings, photographs, drawings, published materials, clippings and ephemera.
Description: AFC 452 Finding Aid
*Note: some restrictions
Dates of creation: Predominant 1896-1913
Scope and Content: Sisters, Robina Alison Lizars (1853 - 1918) and Kathleen McFarlane Lizars (1857-1931) from Stratford ON, together published three successful books on Canadian history; In the Days of the Canada Company (1896), Humours of '37 (1837), and Committed to His Charge: A Canadian Chronicle (1900), available through www.canadiana.ca . Kathleen also independently wrote a novel entitled The Valley of the Humber (1913).
This fonds contains materials relating to the literary and personal affairs of the sisters including drafts, newspaper clippings, research notes and personal papers.
Description: AFC 143 Finding Aid
Dates of Creation: 1887-1925
Scope & Content: Peter Gilchrist McArthur (1866-1924) was a Scottish immigrant who eventually settled in Middlesex County following a career writing for newspapers and magazines in New York, USA. McArthur published well known books relating to agriculture and farm life including: The Prodigal, The Red Cow, The Affable Stranger, Sir Wilfrid Laurier and In Pastures Green.
The fonds includes manuscripts of books and plays, correspondence, newspaper clippings, financial and personal papers, poems, photographs and slides.
Description: AFC 132 Finding Aid
Date: Predominant 1957 - 2001
Scope & Content: Roy McDonald (1937 - 2018) was a London ON author and poet. Materials include journals, biographical papers, correspondence, writings and personal papers.
Description: Inventory list
Dates: 1932 - 2000
Scope & Content: James Crerar Reaney (1926 - 2008) was a distinguished educator and one of Canada's foremost authors of poetry, drama and prose in addition to founding and editing the arts magazine Alphabet. Included in the fonds are manuscripts, drafts, records and personal materials encompassing Reaney's extensive academic, writing and theatrical career.
Description: AFC 18 Finding Aid
*Note: some restrictions
