Magazines

Contact

Ask a Librarian

Digital Collections

Many libraries and archives have digitized historical magazines and made them freely available online. The list below provides a few examples and is by no means exhaustive. Search the websites of national, university, and local libraries and archives related to your areas of research for more options.

Digitization Projects

Architecture Magazine Library
The world's largest open digital collection of major US architecture magazines with over 4.3 million downloadable pages representing over 22,000 issues.
Blue Mountain Project
Contains fully searchable issues of important magazines of the European avant-garde.
Canadian Modernist Magazines Project
Collection of modernist and proto-modernist literary magazines of historical and cultural significance that were published in Canada between 1900 and 1950.
Cultural Magazines of Latin America
Contains retrodigitized cultural magazines from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Peru and Puerto Rico dating back to the period between 1880 and 1930.
Edmonton Queer History Collection
2SLGBTQ+ community magazines, newsletters, and items of historical significance. Material has been digitized in support of the Edmonton Queer History Project.
Media History Digital Library
Features millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound from the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research.
Modernist Journals Project
Includes digitized English-language literary magazines from the 1890s to the 1920s.

Cover Art and Advertisements

Ad*Access
Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
MagazineArt.org
Online archive of cover art (not articles) from magazine covers and advertisements covering the 1880s through the 1940s.
Advertising Archives
The largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe with a collection posters, postcards, magazines, and other ephemeral materials from the mid-19th century to the present.

General Collections

Google Magazines
List of magazines available in Google Books.
Independent Voices
Open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals from the latter half of the 20th century, drawn from special collections libraries.
The Magazine Rack
Collection of digitized magazines covering various subject areas from Internet Archive.