The Music Library owns one of the largest score collections at a Canadian university, but finding individual works can be challenging. Ask a Music Library staff member for assistance if you can't find what you're looking for. If the score isn't in the collection, we can help you borrow it from another library and we'll consider purchasing the work ourselves.
A collection of rare early editions from the 18th and 19th centuries of mainly chamber ensemble repetoire. Part of the collection has been digitized and is available through the Internet Archive. See more finding aids for the collection here: http://www.lib.uwo.ca/music/thedrsjamesandmargaretwhitbycollections.html
This collection contains over 2,200 volumes in print, primarily rare manuscripts and printed first editions of operas and libretti composed between 1597 and 1900. Over 600 are currently available online.
Searchable archive of modern editions of sacred and secular choral music that is in the public domain, currently listing over 8,800 titles. Includes texts, translations and information about composers.
A comprehensive collection of Canadian music; includes over 20,000 patriotic and parlour songs, piano pieces, sacred music, and novelty numbers, some dating back to the 1700s. Click "Aurora" to access search. Click "Sheet Music from Canada's Past" for search tips.
The International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is a multinational, non-profit joint venture which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.