Business Sustainability

Ask a Business Librarian

Contact the Business Library

Contact:

text: 226-777-3039

call: 519-661-3941

ESG (Environmental, Social, and Governance)

Environmental, social, and governance (ESG) criteria are a set of standards for a company's operations that socially conscious investors use to screen potential investments.

Environmental: how a company performs as a steward of the environment
Social: how a company manages relationships with employees, suppliers, customers, and the communities where it operates
Governance: includes a company's leadership structure, executive pay, audits, internal controls, and shareholder rights

Definition from Chen, J. (2021). Environmental, social, and governance (ESG) criteria. Investopedia.

Sustainalytics
Provides social investment analysis by Jantzi Research Inc., an independent investment research firm that evaluates and monitors the environmental, social, and governance (ESG) research performance of global securities.
Please contact the Business Library for access to this database.
Nexis Uni
CSRHub ESG Ratings Provides consensus ratings of a company’s environmental, social, and governance performance as a lever to improve corporate sustainability. To access: click Advanced Search, enter the name of the company in the main search box, and type CSRHub in the search box under the Source heading.
Mergent Online
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data, broker analyst research reports, and more. For Industry ESG Reports: select Industry Analysis > Reports > ESG

Bloomberg Professional Services
Interactive financial information that integrates data, news, analytics, and multimedia reports into a single platform.
Only available in the C.B. “Bud” Johnston Library. Please book a time to ensure availability.
WRDS: Wharton Research Data Service
Data subscription service provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The data available are mainly related to business and finance. Use the link to see the details of what's included in our subscription and how to get access.
Only available to current Western Master's and PhD students, staff, and faculty.

Find Books and eBooks on ESG

This is only a small selection of the books and ebooks that are available from the Library. Search for "ESG" using the search bar below to find more. You can use the filter options to limit to 'books and ebooks'.

Transparency in ESG and the Circular Economy
A holistic view of ESG goes beyond environmental issues, which are closely linked to social issues. Both come from the governance of an organization: the integrity with which decisions are made and implemented, ultimately defining corporate culture.
Sustainable: Moving Beyond ESG to Impact Investing
In Sustainable, a finance-industry veteran offers an insider's look at the promises, prospects, and perils of ESG investing.
Sustainable Enterprise Value Creation: Implementing Stakeholder Capitalism through Full ESG Integration
This Open Access book provides a practical guide to the creation of sustainable enterprise value and implementation of the principles of stakeholder capitalism for corporate boards and management teams.

Statistics Canada - Environment

OECD iLibrary
Contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

OECD Stat
Includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
United Nations Environment Statistics
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Envirofacts