Theology and Religion - Brescia

Brescia University College Theology and Religion Research Guide

Writing

Writing an essay or research paper can be hard work! The resources below can help you with your writing:

Visit the Writing Centre at Brescia.
The OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab has lots of writing resources for you to use. You can find out about subject-specific writing, writing mechanics, grammar, and more.
Check out Western’s Writing Support Centre Online Writing Resources. They have lots of writing support handouts for you to use.

Writing Resources

The brief Penguin handbook by Lester Faigley, Roger Graves, Heather Graves
With unique visual guides and models, and Lester Faigley's clear, accessible explanations, The Brief Penguin Handbook has established itself as the best-selling handbook to enter the market in eighteen years. This all-in-one handbook features excellent coverage of writing for different purposes, design and presentation, research and documentation, grammar and style, and writing for ESL students making it the ultimate resource for students.
They Say / I Say by Cathy Birkenstein; Russel Durst; Gerald Graff
Publication Date: 2018-02-26
The book that has taught millions of students to present their arguments as a response to what "they say" has been expanded to define as broadly as possible who's included in "they." Readings demonstrate the moves that matter in academic writing and represent a multitude of perspectives. The Fourth Edition includes an anthology of 40 readings--half of which are NEW--that will prompt students to listen, think, and write about five important issues, including NEW "How Can We Bridge the Differences That Divide Us?"
McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers by Carol Ellison
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Write an effective research paper--no sweat! The words "research paper" may send a chill down your spine. You're thinking about the hours of research and the days of writing ahead-and that's after wringing your hands about the topic! Never fear, this concise resource will guide you through the process step-by-step and make the experience painless. With veteran composition instructor Carol Ellison's advice, you'll be able to create a thought-provoking research paper that will get you the best possible grade! McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers gives you the tools to: Organize a helpful outline before you write Find solid evidence at the library and on the Internet to back up your thesis Write effective sentences to support your topic Replace common phrases with attention-drawing wording to properly articulate your ideas Use smooth transitions between paragraphs to keep your paper flowing Craft eloquent summaries and conclusions Avoid accidental incidences of plagiarism Run a thorough check over your research paper before you hand it in

Citing

Citing is an important part of the research process – you need to give credit to the authors of the sources you used!

MLA Style

The Modern Language Association (MLA) Style is commonly used in the humanities. The Brescia MLA Guide will give you a basic introduction to in-text citations and referencing in MLA style.

For more information, please see:

MLA Handbook (9th Ed.)
Purdue OWL provides additional information about the Modern Language Association (MLA) style including manuscript formatting, formatting the reference page, and accepted manuscript writing style.

Don’t forget – if you have questions about citation, ask a library staff member – we’re here to help!