Western Libraries

Writing

Search for Articles, Books, and more...

The search box on the library homepage under Search for Articles, Books, and more…, or OMNI,  is a gateway to our resources, and helps you locates book that the Western Libraries have in their collection plus online journal and newspaper articles pulled from database holdings.  This is a great place to start your research because you will find a large number of resources on your topic.  In addition to books and articles, OMNI will also retrieve relevant databases and display them at the top of the page.  Try searching the recommended databases when you have narrowed your topic.

 

To narrow down your search in OMNI, use the filters on the left side of the page.  You can refine your search to only include online resources, print resources, online journal articles, ebooks, encyclopedias, and more.  You can also refine your search to a specific publication date range or language.

Catalogue Search Tips

Another way to search for resources on your topic is through the shared library catalogue.  This catalogue is for all locations of the Western Libraries, including the affiliates (Brescia, Huron, and King’s).

 

You should use the library catalogue if you already know what you are looking for.  In this case, search by title, journal title, or author.

To find a range of resources on your topic, use the Keyword search.  Use the limiters below the search boxes to find resources in a specific library location, published between specific dates, or in a specific format.

 

 

When looking for print materials, make sure you take note of the location of the book and the call number.

Database Search Tips

There is a wide variety of databases available through the Western Libraries.  To find the databases most relevant to your topic, check the research guide for your subject.

To properly search a database, use synonyms and Boolean operators to retrieve more relevant results.  Watch this video about Putting Together your Search Terms to learn about searching.

Also, use the advanced search option if available.  This enables you to use more relevant search terms and narrow down your search.