Comics and graphic novels can be found in several locations at the D.B. Weldon Library:
Main Stacks
While most comics are catalogued according to their format in the PN 6700's such as Dylan Horrocks' Hicksville, others are catalogued according to their subject such as Shigeru Mizuki's Showa: A History of Japan at DS 888.5 (in the Japanese history section) or Valentina Grande & Sergio Varbella's Bauhaus: A Graphic Novel at N 332 (in the European art schools section).
Pride Library
Western's Pride Library is home to the Queer Graphica Collection where one can find classic queer comics such as Alison Bechdel's Dykes to Watch Out For or Shimura Takako's Wandering Son.
Archives and Special Collections
Due to a generous recent donation by former Huron professor Dr. Eddy Smet, Western Archives and Special Collections is home to thousands of rare single-issue "floppy" comics dating back to the 1940's. Please note that cataloguing of this collection is still underway and that not all titles in this collection are discoverable in Omni.
The Education Resource Centre, located in the John George Althouse Building, supports instruction in the Bachelor of Education program. The ERC maintains a small collection of juvenile print graphic novels in English and French.
The Huron University College Library, the Beryl Ivey Library at Brescia University College, and the G. Emmett Cardinal Carter Library at King's University College all collect graphic novels. Like at the D.B. Weldon Library, they are interfiled in the main stacks, mostly in the PN 6700's. Titles from each collection are available for all Western students and faculty to borrow and can also be requested through inter-library loan.
The FGL maintains a collection of comics and graphic novels to support the teaching of graduate-level courses in library and information science and journalism. A full list of titles in the FGL collection can be found at their LibraryThing page. Please note that access to the FIMS Graduate Library is restricted to FIMS graduate students, faculty, and alumni and materials in their collection cannot be requested in Omni by students in other faculties. Western students and faculty who wish to access comics in their collection are required to email the FGL at fimslib@uwo.ca to make arrangements for in-library viewing of materials.
The London Public Library has a large selection of comics and graphic novels throughout their sixteen branch libraries. They also provide access to digital comics and graphic novels for patrons through their subscription to Libby and hoopla. Western students are eligible for a LPL card if they reside in London, Middlesex County, Oxford County, or Elgin County (excluding Woodstock). More information on obtaining a library card can be found here.
