History - Brescia

Brescia University College History Research Guide

Check out the following databases to find journal articles relating to History

America: History and Life
This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. This bibliographic database provides citations and abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations, as well as link-outs to full text. In many cases, embedded full text is supplied. From 1989 onward, the database also includes citations for reviews of films, videos, and non-print media.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts provides abstracts to scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on world history (excluding the history of Canada and the United States; see America: History and Life), from 1450 to the present and includes link-outs to online full text; in many cases, embedded full text is supplied. Coverage includes all branches of world history: political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious, and intellectual. Historical Abstracts also covers the history of medicine, science, and technology.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
This database provides bibliographic information on the history of the British Isles, as well as the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55 BC to the present. As well as providing publication details, BBIH links to library catalogues to help locate items found in research libraries in North America, Britain, and Ireland. Links to online text are included where available.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text, full-image scholarly journal articles. Contains historical holdings of research across many subjects. There is a 5-year embargo on most JSTOR content. For more accurate results, use Advanced Search option.

Additional Databases
Click to view other databases, including British History Online, Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, and Victorian Popular Culture.

Journals

There are many journals that are available online. Physical copies of some journals are also available in the library in the periodicals section on the first floor. Click on a link below to view the journal. If you are off-campus, you will have to log in for off-campus access.

Keywords

Below are some possible subject terms to use in your subject or keyword search in the library catalogue or databases. This is not an exhaustive list, but will help to get you started.

Britain - history	France - history	Oral history
Canada - history	Great Britain - history	Oral tradition
Chronology - historical	Historiography	Peace treaties
Confederation	History periodicals	Revolutions
Constitutional history	History - modern imperialism	Social history
Environmental history	Kings and rulers	United States - history
Europe history	Labour market - history	War
Europe - colonies	Local history	Women and work
Europe - territorial expansion	Middle class women - England - history	Women - history
Feminism - history	Military history	Working women
Folklore and history	Military history - Canada	World history