Online Primary Sources
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a major research collection providing images of over 100,000 imprints from 1475 to 1700. Publications in English and foreign languages printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, British America are included, plus English books printed in other countries from 1641-1700. Subjects range from popular culture, literature, philosophy, politics and science to religion.
First World War
This portal showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Available modules include: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
This database provides a gendered perspective and online access to original British source material useful for researchers in history, literature, sociology and education. Sources include ephemera, pamplets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, and poetry.
Canadian Letters and Images Project
A permanent archive of the Canadian war experience, from any war, as told through the wartime correspondence, photographs, and other personal materials from the battlefront and from the home front. A partnership between Department of History at Malaspina University College, and the History Department at Western University.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (DFG Nationallizenzen)
This database provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to Canada and America. Contains over 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Coverage begins around around 1840 and extends to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920.
Selected Digital Primary Resources
The Selected Digital Primary Sources for History guide contains an extensive list of resources which may be useful for your research. The guide is organized by geographical region.