Researching a Company's Supply Chain
It can be challenging, if not impossible, to find information about the supply chain or logistics management of a specific company. To get an overall picture of a company's supply chain operations, try using a variety of sources, including the ones listed below.
Resources for Finding Company Profiles
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data, broker analyst research reports, and more. Click on the Supply Chain tab to search either by company or trade/product.
In the company profile, select the options under the Business Relationships heading.
Find your company and then use the function SPLC<GO>.
Additional Sources of Company Profiles
While these databases may not have a specific section for logistic or supply chain information for companies, it can still be helpful to look at their company profiles.
Finding Company Filings
Annual reports and other company filings often have additional information about the supply chain. Try using CTRL+F to search the documents for the words suppl or distrib to locate discussions about suppliers and distribution for that company.
Provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by issuers with the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities ("Canadian Securities Administrators" or "CSA") in the SEDAR filing system going back to 1996.
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) makes all submissions by U.S. public companies since 1993 available in full-text.
Resources for Finding Newspaper, Magazine, and Scholarly Articles
Newspaper, magazine, and even academic articles may also provide information about a company's supply chain.
Business Source Complete
Provides full-text for scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals , country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources.
Access to full-text documents, including international and Canadian news, legislation, company profiles, industry reports, and more.
Extensive access to news coverage from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages. Company and industry information is also available.
Includes academic, magazine, and newspaper articles from Canadian publications. Includes some French publications.
Comprehensive and diverse full-text online database that includes coverage of agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.