Below are some of our popular databases for finding industry reports.
Important industry information can also be found from industry associations. Information available often includes:
- industry specific news and trends
- statistics and research reports
- legislation and regulations
- profiles and member directories
Some associations restrict access of research reports to members only.
You can supplement these reports with information found in newspapers, magazines, and trade publications.
Provides industry research reports, including coverage of Ontario industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Provides profiles of companies, industries and countries including overviews, competition, leading companies, segmentation and forecasts.
Mintel Reports (Mintel Oxygen)
Country and category specific reports with quantitative and qualitative market, brand and consumer insights.
Statista: the statistics portal for market data, market research and market studies
Provide access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. It also includes market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, and more.
Select the Industry Analysis tab. 25 broad sector industries covered with a North American focus.
Business Monitor Online
Provides in-depth market research reports, economic and political risk ratings, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity with a focus on emerging markets.
Conference Board of Canada
Access to Conference Board research publications on economic trends, public policy issues and organizational performance. Includes metropolitan outlooks for major Canadian cities. Requires a sign-in at top right of website. Select university or college Students, staff or faculty members. Select access the e-Library.
Published by Euromonitor, Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide.
Frost & Sullivan
In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage.
Provides comprehensive analysis of global market sizing, forecasting and industry intelligence, covering markets in science and technology.
Provides information on internet marketing, including reports, news items, statistics, articles, market projections and commentaries.
Plunkett's Industry Almanacs
Each almanac includes: industry trends analysis, market data and competitive intelligence, market forecasts and industry statistics, industry associations and professional societies.
Includes financial data on major private companies. Includes financials and revenues, M&A deals, firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, and family ownership data. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email.
Searching for Industry Associations
Use Google or another search engine to search for associations relevant for your industry in your location. If you don't find a relevant industry association, try broadening your geographic area (e.g. from Ontario to Canada, or from Canada to the U.S. or international). If your industry is very specialized or new, look for associations for broader or similar industries. Try searching terms like industry association, industry group, trade group, or trade organization and the name of your topic.
Canadian Construction Association
Association representing contractors (general, trade, civil) and manufacturers, service providers and suppliers in Canada’s institutional, commercial and industrial (ICI) construction industry.
Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation
Housing Knowledge Centre includes housing market stats, Indigenous and northern housing, housing policy, accessible housing, urban planning, and more.
Food and Drink
Coffee Association of Canada
Coffee and beverage statistics from the CAC's annual study of Canadian coffee drinkers. Includes impact of COVID-19 on coffee consumption.
Food and Beverage Ontario
Ontario association focused on the growth of the food and beverage processing sector. The website includes industry-related news and reports.
Health and Beauty
Home (Appliances, Furniture, Equipment, etc.)
Association of Home Applicance Manufacturers
Association representing manufacturers and suppliers of major, portable and floor care appliances. Includes industry news and economic impact reports/tables for North American regions.
Home Furnishings Association
Association devoted to the needs and interests of home furniture retailers. See industry news, trends, and analysis in the blog and education section of the website.
Toy Association (USA)
Latest research and data on myriad topics impacting the U.S. and global toy industry. Some reports are restricted to members only.
Leisure (Hobbies, Sports, Exercise, Travel, etc.)
Retail Council of Canada
Provides access to the latest retail industry research, best practices, consumer trends and sales statistics. Some reports restricted to members.
Business Source Complete
Provides full-text for scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. To limit search results to a particular industry, enter an industry code into the "NAICS/Industry Code" field on the Advanced Search screen.
The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals , country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. To limit search results to a particular industry, enter an industry code into the "NAICS Code" field on the Advanced Search screen.
Extensive access to news coverage from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages. Limit results to a particular industry by clicking the "Industry" drop-down in the Search Builder screen. Then browse for an industry, search a keyword, or enter a NAICS code, and add the industry to your search.
Access to full-text documents, including international and Canadian news, legislation, company profiles, industry reports, and more.
Just - Auto
Global automotive industry news, data and analysis.
Just - Style
Market research on the fashion and apparel industry.
May 6, 2021: 10:00am - 8:00pm
May 7, 2021: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Contact the Johnston Library