The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) can be used to cite sources in any discipline and has two systems that can be used:
This guide focuses on the notes and bibliography style according to edition 18 of the CMOS and provides selected examples of business-related citations. Some business databases and resources do not directly match CMOS instructions. As a result, the citations and examples in this guide reflect the C.B. 'Bud' Johnson Library's interpretation of CMOS rules for business resources.
For further information on using CMOS, including examples of other source types, refer to one of these guides:
Corporations as authors: If a person is not listed as the author, the organization / corporation / agency responsible for the document should be listed as the author, even if it is also given as a publisher.
Access date: Include the date you accessed the source only if there is no date of publication or revision. Most commonly, this is needed when citing a webpage.
Database name: Include the database name for most business-specific sources. Sources found in a subscription database (meaning, a database you accessed using your Western ID and password) should include the name of the database rather than the URL.
The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) is available online.
There are two systems of citations that can be used in the Chicago style:
CMOS recommends avoiding the repetition of lengthy citations by using a shortened note format. If a full citation is already given, either in a previous note or in a bibliography, a shortened note should be used. The short form should include enough information to direct readers to the corresponding previous note or bibliography entry.
Example
Full note: Seth Godin, Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable (Penguin Books, 2002), 49-50.
Shortened note: Godin, Purple Cow, 167.
Keep in mind:
A bibliography is not required but can be included. If you use a bibliography, pay attention to the differences in how a citation is formatted.
| Citation Element | Footnote or Endnote | Bibliography |
|---|---|---|
| Number of entries | One note for each time the work is cited. | One entry per work, regardless of the number of times the work is cited. |
| Page numbers | Include the specific page numbers you are referencing. | Include the page range for the entire work. |
| Order of entries | Numerical order as they appear in the body of the paper. | Alphabetical order. |
| Order of author name | Author's name appears in standard order (i.e. first name last name or Maggie Smith). | Author's name is inverted (i.e. last name, first name or Smith, Maggie). |
| Multiple authors |
If two authors, list both. If more than two authors, list only the first followed by et al., unless there is no bibliography and then list up to six authors in the first citation. |
If two authors, list both, but only the first author's name is inverted. If six or fewer authors, include all names, again with only the first author's name inverted. If more than six authors, list only the first three, followed by et al. |
Footnote / Endnote: Proctor & Gamble, "New Shampoo Startles the Country with its Beautifying Results," advertisement, Modern Beauty Shop, 1937, Ad*Access, https://repository.duke.edu/dc/adaccess/BH0397
Shortened Note: Proctor & Gamble, "New Shampoo," advertisement
Bibliography: Proctor & Gamble. "New Shampoo Startles the Country with its Beautifying Results." Advertisement. Modern Beauty Shop, 1937. Ad*Access, https://repository.duke.edu/dc/adaccess/BH0397
Footnote / Endnote: Loblaw Companies Limited, "Annual Report 1996", 1996, 20, Mergent Online.
Shortened Note: Loblaw Companies Limited, "Annual Report 1996", 20.
Bibliography: Loblaw Companies Limited. "Annual Report 1996." 1996, 1-40. Mergent Online.
Footnote / Endnote: Bloomberg, "Air Canada ESG Analysis," accessed April 17, 2024, Bloomberg LP.
Shortened Note: Bloomberg, "Air Canada ESG".
Bibliography: Bloomberg. "Air Canada ESG Analysis." Accessed April 17, 2024. Bloomberg LP.
Footnote / Endnote: Mergent Online, "Air Canada Inc," accessed April 17, 2025, Mergent Online.
Shortened Note: Mergent Online, "Air Canada Inc".
Bibliography: Mergent Online. "Air Canada Inc." Accessed April 17, 2025. Mergent Online.
Footnote / Endnote: MarketLine, "Country Analysis Report: Costa Rica, PEST Insights," December 2024, 13, accessed April 17, 2025, MarketLine.
Shortened Note: MarketLine, "Costa Rica," 13.
Bibliography: MarketLine. "Country Analysis Report: Costa Rica, PEST Insights." December 2024. Accessed April 17, 2025. MarketLine.
Footnote / Endnote: Valerie Le, "Fast Food Restaurants in Canada," March 2025, IBIS World.
Shortened Note: Le, "Fast Food".
Bibliography: Le, Valerie. "Fast Food Restaurants in Canada." March 2025. IBIS World.
Footnote / Endnote: Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0222-01, "Household Spending, Canada, Regions and Provinces," Statistics Canada, accessed April 21, 2025. https://doi.org/10.25318/1110022201-eng
Shortened Note: Statistics Canada, "Household Spending".
Bibliography: Statistics Canada. Table 11-10-0222-01. "Household Spending, Canada, Regions and Provinces." Statistics Canada. Accessed April 21, 2025. https://doi.org/10.25318/1110022201-eng
