Newspapers

Contact

Ask a Librarian

Digital Collections

Many libraries and archives have digitized historical newspapers that are freely available online. The list below provides a few examples from the Americas and is by no means exhaustive. Search the websites of national, university, and local libraries and archives related to your areas of research for more options.

Indigenous

Anishinabek News
PDF archive of Anishinabek News printed editions from 1993 to the present.
Digitized Indigenous Newspapers (National Heritage Digitization Strategy)
Digitized issues from Windspeaker (1986-2015), Ha-Shilth-Sa (1974-2017), Turtle Island News (2001-2013), and Nunatsiaq News (1976-78).
Micmac News
A community newspaper that was run by the Union of Nova Scotia Indians and the Native Communications Society of Nova Scotia. Coverage is from 1964-1991.

Canada

Abolitionist Newspapers (Ontario Community Newspapers Portal)
Provides digitized copies of various nineteenth-century Black newspapers in Canada.
Canadiana: Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers
A bilingual digital library of primary source documents of early Canadian printed publications, including 330 newspaper titles.
BC Historical Newspapers
Features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province between 1859 and 1995.
Early Alberta Newspapers
Daily and weekly newspapers from various communities in Alberta from 1885 to 2001.
French-Canadian Newspapers: An Essential Historical Source (1808-1919)
Digitized newspapers of French-language newspapers from across Canada hosted by the Library and Archives Canada.
Nova Scotia Newspapers
More than twenty digitized newspapers from across the province from the 17th to the 19th centuries.
Ontario Newspapers
Over 200 years of newspaper titles from various sources hosted by Our Digital World, a subproject of Knowledge Ontario.
Saskatchewan News Index
Contains historical news stories published in Saskatchewan newspapers from 1884 to 2004.
University of Manitoba Newspaper Search
Several digitized Manitoban newspapers ranging from 1859 to 2010.

United States

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Digital archive of 23 California newspapers between 1850 and 1922.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Archive of newspapers from the United States between 1789-1963. Also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Includes more than 3.9 million digitized pages, representing more than 735 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 2023.
Historic Oregon Newspapers
Contains 2,400,000 pages from historic Oregon newspapers dated 1846 to 2023.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections
Contains 240,650 issues from 234 newspapers in the state of Illinois. Includes farm, vaudeville, student, and Black newspapers.
North Carolina Newspapers
Early newspapers from the State Archives of North Carolina ranging from 1751 to 1898.
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection
Contains all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War.
Utah Digital Newspapers
Historical digitized newspapers from Utah, mostly late 1800s to the early 1900s, with more than 130,000 pages of text.

Latin America

BNDigital
Digitized newspaper holdings from Brazil’s Hemeroteca Digital.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection (Digital Library of the Caribbean)
Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other materials on newsprint held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Hemeroteca Digital Histórica (Banco de la República, Colombia)
Digitized newspapers from the Hemeroteca Digital Histórica de la Biblioteca Virtual del Banco de la República in Colombia.
Hermoteca Nacional Digital de México
Digitized newspaper holdings from Mexico's Hemeroteca Nacional.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Contains nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).