Western Libraries

Black History related materials from Archives and Special Collections

Black History related materials from Archives and Special Collections

This guide is intended to provide a central location for people seeking black history resources from Western Archives and Special Collections. This guide is only a selection of the resources within our holdings.  These materials are primarily within the Canadian context. Topics within these materials include abolitionism, anti-slavery, settlements, the Buxton liberated slave colony / Elgin settlements, William King, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Oxford and Kent Counties, among others. 

Please click on the tabs to find the archival, special collections, and reference materials available at Western Archives and Special Collections related to black history. Archival and Special Collections materials need to be requested in advance. Reference materials are available for immediate use in the Archives and Research Collections Centre (ARCC) Reading Room. 

All of these materials are available only to be used within  the Reading Room. The Western Archives and Special Collections Reading Room is located within the ARCC, which is accessible via The D.B Weldon Library.  Please email archives.services@uwo.ca for more information on the archival material, as preliminary inventories may be available; to consult with an archivist or request specific box numbers / call numbers you would like to view.

Click here for more information about visiting the Reading Room.

Contact

Archives and Special Collections's picture
Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
Archives and Research Collections Centre
519-661-4046

Guide created by Amelia Harkins, updated by Theresa Regnier, April 2020.