Western Libraries

Black History related materials from Archives and Special Collections

Special Collections Black History Material

Archival and Special Collections materials need to be requested in advance.  Please email archives.services@uwo.ca to request items.

The Dawn of Tomorrow

DESCRIPTION: The Dawn of Tomorrow was a weekly serial publication, also known as the National Negro Weekly.  The contents of the publication were "devoted to the interests of the darker races".  This newspaper was published by James F. Jenkins, in London, Ontario, and was continued by his family after his death in 1931.

YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 1923-1972Dawn of Tomorrow May 18, 1931

CALL NUMBER: AP5.D4

Catalogue record for The Dawn of Tomorrow. Also available on microfilm in The D.B. Weldon Library.

The Voice of the Bondsman

AUTHOR: John J.E Linton

DESCRIPTION: "The Voice of the Bondsman" was a publication issued in Stratford by abolitionist John J.E Linton. The publication was intended to enlighten and encourage Canadian citizens to condemn "human chattel Slavery and a fellowship with it and its abettors". Linton used this publication to encourage Canadians to support escaped or liberated slaves who sought refuge in Canada as well as warn them of the dangers of financially supporting American companies who favour or are silent about slavery. There were only two issues of the publication, and only 5000 copies were distributed. This is the only known surviving copy of "The Voice of the Bondsman"

YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 1856-1857

CALL NUMBER: E449.V88

Catalogue record for The Voice of the Bondsman

Link to online pdf of both issues of Voice of the Bondsman

William King : Friend and Champion of Slaves

AUTHORAnnie Straith Jamieson

DESCRIPTION: The author of this book, Annie Straith Jamieson, was the grand-niece of William King. This book is a biographical overview of the life and impact of William King, who was the founder of the liberated slave and refugee colony in Buxton, Ontario. The settlement prospered from 1848-1873. Find the manuscript for this book along with other papers and letters from author Annie Straith Jamieson in the Archival Material tab in this guide.

YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 1925

CALL NUMBER: E450.K56J3 (regular size)

Catalogue record for William King: Friend and Champion of Slaves

The Ontario Black History Society and the City of Toronto present Black history in early Ontario : a travelling exhibition

AUTHOR: Ontario Black History Society

DESCRIPTION: This is an exhibition catalogue from the "Black History in Early Ontario" traveling exhibition. The catalogue contains information on the history of slavery in Upper Canada, the underground railroad, John Brown, patterns of black settlement, the Buxton settlement, blacks and the military, community life for blacks in Canada, etc. 

YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 1981

CALL NUMBER: F1059.7.N3O56 (oversize)

Catalogue record for Black history in early Ontario: a travelling exhibition

Slave Narratives

Slave narratives are written autobiographical accounts of enslaved Africans.

Catalogue record for Slave Narratives

Harriet Beecher Stowe

Harriet Beecher Stowe was an American abolitionist and writer. Her 1852 novel, Uncle Tom's Cabin, depicted the harsh reality of slavery in the United States. Our collections has rare editions of Uncle Tom's Cabin as well as many of Stowe's other literary works.

Catalogue record for Harriet Beecher Stowe

Plan of the Elgin Settlement in the Township of Raleigh, County of Kent, Canada West

DESCRIPTION: This map shows layout of settlement of blacks who moved to Canada.

YEAR OF PUBLICATION: C1850

CALL NUMBER: CX926

Catalogue record for Plan of the Elgin Settlement in the Township of Raleigh, County of Kent, Canada West

The relation of Canada to the anti-slavery and abolition movements in the United States

AUTHOR: Fred Landon

DESCRIPTION: M.A. thesis from the University of Western Ontario.

YEAR OF PUBLICATION: 1919

CALL NUMBER: AS42.L8L25 (oversize)

Catalogue record for The relation of Canada to the anti-slavery and abolition movements in the United States

Contact

Profile Photo
Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
Archives and Research Collections Centre
519-661-4046