Western Libraries

Black History related materials from Archives and Special Collections

Archival Black History Materials

For more information on the archival materials, such as, if preliminary finding aids are available, please contact archives.services@uwo.ca.

Fred Landon Collection

DESCRIPTION: Fred Landon was a librarian, historian and collector who specialized in Ontario history, spending majority of his career at the University of Western Ontario.  One area of strength within his personal historical research was Canadian black history. Landon's collection of materials relating to black history in Canada is very extensive. Some of the topics included within his Canadian black history papers include Civil War, slavery, abolition, Lincoln’s assassination, black settlements, black immigration to Canada, Uncle Tom's Cabin, John Brown, Benjamin Lundy, Harper’s Ferry, the Buxton Settlement, emancipation, the KKK, runaway slave advertisements, miscegenation, the New England Anti-slavery Convention, and much more. 

BOX NUMBERS: B4196-003, B4220, B4221, B4226, B4357

Alexander Lovell Murray Papers

DESCRIPTION: The Alexander Lovell Murray papers contain materials from his thesis research for his Ph.D at the University of Pennsylvania. His thesis, entitled "Canada and the Anglo-American Anti-Slavery Movement" described the efforts of Canadian, British, and American philanthropists who aided fugitive slaves that escaped to Canada prior to the civil war. His research also covers Canada's recognition as refuge for slaves and its support of British and American abolitionists. For example, the Buxton settlement and anti-slavery society of Canada. 

His thesis is available to Western affiliated users and can be found here.

BOX NUMBERS: B4550-B4551

J.I. Cooper Fonds

DESCRIPTION: J.I Cooper was a historian and collected materials on black history in Oxford County. Some of the topics included in his papers are John Brown, Frederick Stover, and Quakers in Canada. His papers also include census records listing the black residents of Oxford County from the years 1851-1871. 

BOX NUMBER: A13-003-001

Canadian Black Studies Project

DESCRIPTION: The Canadian Black Studies Project was led by the Cross-Cultural Learner Centre of London, Ontario from 1975-1976. The project organized, listed, and filed a substantial collection of Canadian black history and contemporary materials. Also included in the collection of materials are interviews and workshop transcriptions from the project. The purpose of the project was to "heighten the awareness of the Canadian public to the contribution of Canadian blacks". This project examined black history in Canada from the times of African American refugees seeking asylum from slavery, to contemporary racism in Canada.

BOX NUMBERS: B4600-4609

Annie Straith Jamieson Papers

DESCRIPTION: The papers and letters of Annie Straith Jamieson contains a manuscript for her book that she wrote about her grand uncle, William King, Friend and Champion of Slaves.  King is remembered as an abolitionist and the founder of the black colony at Buxton for refugees and liberated slaves from the United States. Her papers also include photographs of King, the Buxton settlement, black settlers, southern plantations, etc. Annie Straith Jamieson was also in contact with Fred Landon and their correspondence is included in these papers as well. 

BOX NUMBER: B4192

Stanley J. Smith Papers

DESCRIPTION: Stanley J. Smith was a historian, collector, and journalist within Ingersoll and Oxford County. His papers relate to John Brown, black history and genealogy. 

BOX NUMBERS: B5477-B5480

Shadd Family Papers

 DESCRIPTION: Abraham Shadd was an American abolitionist. He and his family immigrated to Chatham from the United States in 1851. Abraham's son, Israel Shadd, and daughter Mary Shadd Cary were both proprietors of the abolitionist newspaper "The Provincial Freeman". They were also both teachers and spokespeople for the black community. These papers (on microfilm) include drafts of newspaper articles, correspondence, account books, and diaries which note the presence of John Brown in Chatham circa 1858. 

CALL NUMBERS: M272, M686

Contact

Profile Photo
Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
Archives and Research Collections Centre
519-661-4046