History

Provides abstracts to scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on world history (excluding the history of Canada and the United States; see America: History and Life, above), from 1450 to the present. Includes link-outs to online full text; in many cases, embedded full text is also supplied. Coverage includes all branches of world history: political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious, and intellectual. Also covers the history of medicine, science, and technology.

Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources for the social sciences and humanities.

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. This bibliographic database provides citations and abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations, as well as link-outs to full text. In many cases, embedded full text is supplied. From 1989 onward, the database also includes citations to reviews of films, videos, and non-print media.

Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes a wide range of topics: archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legends, and literacy. Contains more than 141,000 citations for journal articles, books, essays, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage range from the 16th century to the present.

Indexes keyword, title, author, and subject access to content published in a dozen Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine (1905-1976), Financial Post (1907-1948), Monetary Times of Canada (1867-1929), Canadian Forum (1920-1960), Canadian Magazine (1893-1914), Saturday Night (1899-1945), and University Magazine (1901-1920).

Provides bibliographic information on the history of the British Isles, as well as the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55 BC to present. BBIH offers publication details and links to library catalogues to help locate items found in research libraries in North America, Britain, and Ireland. Links to online text are included where available.

Contains selected core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Source materials cover: administrative and legal history; ecclesiastical and religious history; economic history; intellectual, scientific and cultural history; parliamentary history; and urban and metropolitan history.

Indexes journal articles, books, selected government publications, dissertations, and online resources published in the United States and Canada about East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Includes content written from 1989 to the present. See also: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.

Indexes books, journal articles, reviews, and dissertations on formerly Communist countries in Eastern Europe. Materials are published in France, England, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Austria, Finland, and Switzerland; documents are published in a country’s language, or in the language of the country studied. Materials written from 1991 to 2007; 1975-1990 indexes are available only in print. See also American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.

World's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500. Provides a current bibliography of more than 4,500 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, exhibition catalogues, and Festschriften. All articles are classified with full bibliographical details, subject classifications, and indexing familiar to medievalists.

Designed for students, academics, and researchers in medieval history, Medieval Sources Online provides translations of key sources in medieval history, including texts central to medieval studies courses. Focuses upon the diverse cultural, social, and political conditions that affected functioning of all levels of medieval society. It includes introductory and explanatory materials, and serves as a guide to the sources' interpretation, including assessments of the most recent research on various topics being covered.

Contains nearly 800,000 citations, principally in Western languages, on all subjects pertaining to the humanities and the social sciences of East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Includes articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Updated regularly, with thousands of new entries in each upload. The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies are indexed as quickly as possible.

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. Material cited includes works written about the Middle East, Asia, and Africa, as well as Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, along with books, conference proceedings, multi-authored works, and book reviews from 1906 to present. Journals and books are indexed to the article and chapter level.

World's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500. Provides a current bibliography of more than 4,500 periodicals, as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, exhibition catalogues, and Festschriften. All articles are classified with full bibliographical details, subject classifications, and indexing familiar to medievalists.