History

A record of individuals who have shaped British history and culture from the Romans to the 21st century. Offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by specialists. Coverage is updated three times annually. Includes biographies of 59,453 people who died in or before the year 2011, plus 513 "Theme" articles for additional reference and research.

Provides comprehensive coverage of diverse individuals who have shaped the history of the United States. Features over 18,700 biographies. New biographies are added three times annually. Entries are cross-referenced to their counterpart entries in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.

Presents biographies of individuals whose death or last known activity occurred primarily between 1000 to 1930, with partial online coverage for selected individuals to 2000. Coverage includes individuals from all walks of life, ethnic groups, and regions of Canada. Also represents a wide range of professions and occupations: artists, poets, entertainers, politicians, business people, physicians, nurses, lawyers, judges, soldiers, athletes, farmers, workers, and clerics.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world, from all time periods, who have made significant contributions to human culture.

A comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary, containing over 9,700 signed biographical articles, describing and assessing the careers of individuals in all fields of endeavour, including: politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, and medicine. Entries include prominent poeple born in Ireland (now deceased), north and south, as well as the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland. Articles range from 200 to 15,000 words, from short summaries to detailed assessments.