Western Libraries

History

Selected Newspaper Primary Sources

All historical newspapers listed below are available online, and include full text, full image content of the original newspapers.

Canada

Globe & Mail:  Canada's Heritage from 1844 - offers breadth and depth of the most extensive historic newspaper in Canada.  Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice.  

Winnipeg Free Press Archive - covers 1872 to 2017.

United Kingdom

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers - represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media; includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).  Charts the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers', and the "free press".  Many Burney newspapers are well known; however, many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.

19th Century British Library Newspapers - includes full runs of newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Contains national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns, the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Library has Part I and Part II.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - since 1791, the world's major events have been documented in the pages of the Guardian and the Observer.  The newspapers can be searched simultaneously or separately:

  • The Guardian, 1821 to 2003
  • The Observer, 1791 to 2003

Times Digital Archive - offers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 to 1985.  Is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

United States

19th Century U.S. Newspapers - provides access to a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States.  Encompasses the entire 19th century, with emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life. 

America's Historical Newspapers - contains reproductions of historic American newspapers; covers all 50 states.  Library has Series 1 (1690-1876), Series 2 (1758-1900), and Series 3 (1829-1922).  Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers.

African American Newspapers, 1827 to 1998 - includes more than 270 newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress.  Cross-searchable with America's Historical Newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - definitive digital archive for significant American newspapers dating back to the 18th century: 

  • Atlanta Constitution, 1868 to 1945
  • Boston Globe, 1872 to 1983
  • Chicago Defender, 1909 to 1975
  • Chicago Tribune, 1849 to 1992
  • Christian Science Monitor, 1908 to 2002
  • Hartford Courant, 1764 to 1990
  • Los Angeles Times, 1881 to 1992
  • New York Times, 1851 to 2012
  • Wall Street Journal, 1889 to 1998
  • Washington Post, 1877 to 1999
Worldwide

Paper of Record - includes selective historical content dating from 1752 to 2004 for the United Kingdom, the United States, Australlia, the Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.