If you are searching for books, please use the library catalogue. Check the "Books" tab to see the tips for finding books from Western Libraries' holdings and a list of frequently consulted reference titles.
If you are searching for scholarly articles or dissertations/theses, please try the following databases first:
SciFinder: SciFinder is a key database for chemistry journal articles, conference papers, patents, substance properties, and reactions. Users must register for an individual account. Registration is a two-part process and must be completed from within the University's IP range. Learn about Web version system requirements and access online training materials. See the page for SciFinder's content. Currently, we have access to two versions, SciFinder-Web (old version) and SciFinder-n (new version). This new version has a different interface and search algorithm, offering more filter options than the old version and includes a Google-like "All Search" function. * It should be noted that SciFinder web was retired on December 30, 2022, and that it is not an option to continue using it past that date.
EI Compendex currently contains over 20 million records as of December 2020 and references over 5,000 international sources including journals, conferences, and trade publications. Coverage is updated every week and covers the years 1970 to the present.
Web of Science
A major multidisciplinary and citation database for sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Covering literature and citations since 1900.
Another major multidisciplinary and citation database for sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Covering literature and citations since 1960.