Western Libraries

CBE - Chemical and Biochemical Engineering

This guide provides selective resources for Chemical and Biochemical Engineering.

What is a standard

A standard is a "document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose." (ISO, 2013) Standards that are incorporated into law or government regulations are often referred to as codes.

Reading Standard Numbers

Standard numbers may include some or all of the following information, appearing in order from left to right (e.g., ISO/IEC 8859-1: 1998):

  • ratifying body (e.g., ISO)
  • developing body (e.g., IEC)
  • number (e.g., 8859)
  • part number (e.g., 1)
  • year developed (e.g., 1998)
  • year renewed (not given)

Finding Standards at Western

ACI (American Concrete Institute): We have ACI's Manual of Concrete Practice, a print collection of standards and technical guidelines.

ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers): We have 2017 ASME boiler & pressure vessel code : an international code and its companion guides: Vol. 1. &  Vol.2. We also have the guide books: Guidebook for the design of ASME section VIII pressure vessels & Continuing and changing priorities of the ASME boiler & pressure vessel codes and standards. 

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials): We have the complete ASTM active standards online, and some older print editions in the RDL or Archives and Special Collections. Check the print index or the ASTM website for information on their standards.

Building Code (aka The Ontario Building Code Compendium, produced by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Building and Development Branch): We have the 2006 edition in the Taylor Reference collection at call number TH227.O6O56 2007.

CGSB (Canadian General Standards Board): We have the complete current print versions in the Taylor Reference collection at call number T 59.2.C2 C343. Check the CGSB website for information on their standards.

CSA (Canadian Standards Association): We have a large number of print CSA standards in the Taylor Reference collection at call number TA368.N383.

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineerings): We have the complete current versions online.

ISO: Find ISO standards in our collection. It should be noted that some ISO standards are adopted by CSA. Use the CSA Group's search engine to check. Enter your ISO standard number like this: ISO 9001 in the search box.