English

Contact

Western Libraries

Ask a Librarian

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) is an online collection of authoritative language and subject reference works (such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and thesauruses) from one of the world's biggest reference publishers: Oxford University Press. Short entries include brief, factual information (e.g. illustrations, maps, timelines, etc.) while longer entries provide in-depth subject coverage and often link to related ORO entries. The Core Collection (ORO) is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database; the Premium Collection (OROP) provides added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series. For a complete list of subjects and books included in the Oxford Reference Online collection, consult the Books and Subject listings.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Dinah Birch (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
The Oxford Companion to English Literature covers all aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions. For the seventh edition, the Companion has been thoroughly revised and updated. Over 1,000 new entries have been added, ranging from new writers to increased coverage of writers and literary movements from around the world. Contextual and historical coverage has also been expanded, with new entries on European history and culture, post-colonial literature, as well as writers and literary movements from around the world that have influenced English literature.
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English by Ian Ousby (Editor); Doris Lessing (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 1993-10-14
This illustrated and fully updated Third Edition of The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English is the most authoritative and international survey of world literature in English available. The Guide covers everything from Old English to contemporary writing from all over the English-speaking world. There are entries on writers from Britain and Ireland, the USA, Canada, India, Africa, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and the South Pacific, as well as on many important poems, novels, literary journals, and plays. This new edition has been brought completely up to date with more than 280 new author entries, most of them for living authors.