English

Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a major research collection, providing images of over 100,000 imprints from 1475 to 1700. English and foreign language publications printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America are included, plus English books printed in other countries from 1641-1700. Subjects include: popular culture, literature, philosophy, politics, science, and religion. The database includes titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), comprising almanacs, calendars, musical exercises, novels, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, and other primary sources. Searchable fields include "Author," "Title," "Printer," "Publication date," "Type of illustration," and "Library of Congress Subject Heading." Records are linked to their corresponding page images, and downloadable in Adobe® PDF.

A full-text, full-image archive of 35,000 English and foreign language materials ranging in publication date from 1701 to 1800. The entire ECCO collection provides access to the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th century. With full text searching, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more. Essayists, novelists, poets, and playwrights are included. Topics include drama, poetry, ballads, religion, grammar, dictionaries, songs from plays, satire, book catalogues, etc. Languages include English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, Welsh, and others. Searches by author, title, publisher, full text, front matter, back-of-book indexes, etc. are supported.

The most ambitious scholarly digitization and publication program ever undertaken, Nineteenth Century Collections Online is invaluable to research and teaching in one of the most studied historical periods. Rare primary sources, curated by an international team of experts, provide never-before-possible access to important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. Users will find millions of full-text, fully-searchable pages that enhance historical scholarship and provide an intriguing window into a bygone era.

Spans five centuries, from 1492 to 1969, and charts the rise and fall of empires around the world. Sections include: Cultural Contacts (1492-1969); Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, and Colonialism (c1789-1969). Provides original documents and contextual essays to enable exploration of colonial history, politics, culture, and society. Cross-searchable with Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange.

Perdita, meaning "lost woman," is a digital collection of manuscripts written by British women from the 16th and 17th centuries. The manuscripts include life writings, dramatic works, and documents from daily life. This resource is based on the "Perdita Project," (University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University), which sought to uncover "lost" texts produced by women from the Early Modern period.

The Eighteenth Century Journals Portal consists of rare newspapers and journals illuminating all aspects of 18th-century social, political, and literary life. Individual series in the portal may be searched individually or concurrently. Series I contains periodicals from the Hope Collection of the Bodleian Library; Series II includes newspapers and periodicals from the Harry Ransome Humanities Research Center, University of Texas; and Series III draws on the British Newspaper Library and Cambridge University Library. Many materials are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, while others run for several years. Collectively, these materials offer effective coverage of the important issues of the period and are invaluable to the study of all aspects of the 18th century, including: crime, sport, advertising, the theatre, fashion, politics, revolution, agriculture, social issues, and society life.

This is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Titles include numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, providing immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of classic, rare, and contemporary literature. The database currently has over 72,000 pages.