Provides complete online access to all volumes of Gale’s award-wining reference set, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you’ll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works
Provides a record of individuals who have shaped British history and culture from the Roman period to the 21st century. Offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by specialists. Coverage is updated in three times annually. This resource includes biographies of 59,453 people who died in or before the year 2011, plus 513 "Theme" articles for additional reference and research.
Provides a comprehensive examination of the people who have shaped the history of the United States. The database features over 18,300 biographies, including the 17,435 original biographies from the print edition. New biographies are added and others are revised three times a year. The American National Biography entries are cross-reference with their counterpart entries in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, which permits comparisons of subjects in their American and British contexts.
Presents biographies of individuals whose death or last known activity occurred in the years from 1000 to 1930. The biographies include those from all walks of life, ethnic groups, and regions of Canada. The biographies represent a range of professions and occupations--business people, artists, politicians, nurses, judges, physicians, soldiers, athletes, lawyers, poets, farmers, workers, clerics, and entertainers.
The Dictionary of Irish Biography (DIB) is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary published for Ireland. It contains 9,014 signed biographical articles, which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including: politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, and medicine. Entries include prominent people born in Ireland, north and south, as well as the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland. The chronological coverage extends from earliest times to 2002. All entrants in DIB are deceased.