Medieval Studies

Online collections of digitized primary sources.

Contact

There are several searchable collections of primary sources online that have been curated by scholars and librarians at various institutions.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted texts for ancient history from the Fordham University Internet History Sourcebooks Project.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted texts for medieval history from the Fordham University Internet History Sourcebooks Project.
Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
A collection of medieval Latin letters to and from women from the 4th to the 13th centuries. They are presented in their original Latin as well as in English translation.
EuroDocs: History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
Provides links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

There are numerous medieval manuscripts available on the web today, from the British Library and other consortiums of libraries and museums.

British Library – Digitized Manuscripts
Use this website to view digitized copies of manuscripts archived in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents.
Digital Scriptorium
A consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.
Digitized Medieval Manuscripts App
Links to more than 500 libraries around the world. Each one of these contains digitized medieval manuscripts that can be browsed for free.
Manuscripts Online
Enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents, and early printed books.
Polonsky Foundation Digitization Project
Includes Hebrew and Greek manuscripts, together with incunabula, from the Bodleian and Vatican Libraries’ collections.

Incunabula refers to books printed in the earliest period of the history of the printing press in Europe (1450s to 1501).

Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC)
An international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library, with contributions from institutions worldwide.

Subjects: English, History, Medieval Studies

Tags: Medieval History