Music - Resources by Instrument

Contact

Ask a Librarian

Bassoon

Fr. basson; Ger. Fagott; It. fagotto

Repertoire

Browse the Music Library shelves for scores.

Call number ranges with descriptions
Call numbers	Description
M 75 - 79	bassoon alone, with no accompaniment
M 253 - 254	bassoon with piano or continuo
M 1026	bassoon with full orchestra, concertos, etc.
M 1027	bassoon with piano reduction of concertos, etc.
M 1126	bassoon with string orchestra, concertos, etc.
M 1127	bassoon with str. orch., concertos, + piano reduction
MT 400 - 415	studies and methods for bassoon
MT 406	orchestral excerpts

The following sources are useful in identifying appropriate repertoire (alone and in combination with other instruments):

Bassoon bibliography = Bibliographie du basson = Fagott Bibliographie by Bodo Koenigsbeck
Call Number: ML128.B26K74 1994

Comprehensive and designed for a wide audience: preface and indexes are in English, French and German. Organized in two main sections: an alphabetical list by composer (giving dates of birth, composition and/or first performance--plus scoring for larger works) and an index of instrumental combinations. Does not include arrangements.
Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon by Jon P. Beebe
Call Number: ML128.B26B43 1990

Includes unpublished works and provides details on commercially-available recordings. Provides durations, melodic range of works, and discusses the level of difficulty. Also includes those works for unspecified instrument which are suitable for the bassoon, and a glossary of unusual performance techniques.
The index of bassoon music including the index of baroque trio sonatas by Wayne Wilkins (Editor)
Call Number: ML128.B25W5

Publication Date: 1976
The index of bassoon music. Supplement. by Wayne Wilkins
Call Number: ML128.B25W52

Publication Date: 1976/77-1978
The Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon by Kristine K. Fletcher
Call Number: ML128.B26F6 1988

Provides a history of the Paris Conservatoire and its bassoon professors. Lists the bassoon contest solos by year (1827-1894), and evaluates the commissioned solos from 1898-1984. Also useful for composers' dates.
The Bassoon by Will Jansen
Call Number: ML950.J36 1978

A loosely organized set of five volumes, containing a wealth of information on the development and history of the bassoon and contrabassoon, makers and players of the past and present, repertoire lists and bibliography.
Canadian chamber music = Musique de chambre canadienne
Call Number: ML128.C4C34 1980

This work also includes solo works for instrumentalists.
Chamber Music by Victor Rangel-Ribeiro; Robert Markel
Call Number: ML128.C4R3 1993

Divided into three sections: composers before Haydn/Mozart; composers from Beethoven to our time; Master Quick-Reference Index. Organized by composer and title, instrumentation is listed in a grid. Includes date of composition/publication, key, duration, and publisher. Also lists music for voice. Three asterisks (***) denote any combination of instruments.

Recordings

bassoon AND discography (library catalogue search)
Audio and Video Resources
Western's Don Wright Faculty of Music Student / Faculty / Guest Artist Recitals

Performance Practice

Historically-informed performance is an ongoing consideration for all performers. The following titles may prove useful:

Essays on the Performance of Baroque Music by Mary Cyr
Call Number: ML457.C89 2008

In this collection of essays Mary Cyr explores some of the written and unwritten performance conventions that applied to French and English music of the 17th and early 18th centuries. Using composers' own notations, marks added by 18th-century performers, historical treatises, and pictorial evidence, she investigates both vocal and instrumental genres, including opera, cantatas, instrumental chamber music, and solo music for the viol and violin.
A Performer's Guide to Baroque Music by Robert Donington
Call Number: ML457.D65 1974
The interpretation of early music by Robert Donington
Call Number: ML457.D64

Publication Date: 1963
Baroque Music by Robert Donington
Publication Date: ML194.D65 1982b

Drawing on the encyclopedic wealth of material in the author's classic studies The Interpretation of Early Music and A Performer's Guide to Baroque Music, it supplies a basic grounding for students, performers and all early music enthusiasts.
The history of musical instruments [electronic resource] : manuals, tutors and méthodes : a listing and guide to part one of the Research Publications Microfilm Collection by Tim Byard-Jones
Publication Date: 1988

part 1. Instrumental tutors from the Bate collection of musical instruments, Oxford and the private library of Philip Bate (10 reels) -- pt. 2. Tutors and methodes from the F.J. Fetis Collection at the Bibliotheque Royale Albert Ier, Brussels (26 reels).

Background and History

Relevant resources can be found by searching Western Libraries' catalogue using the following words in the Subject field:

The following sources may also be useful:

A Researcher's Guide to the Bassoon by Daniel G. Lipori
Call Number: ML128.B26L56 2002

"...contains a comprehensive listing of articles on bassoon related topics from important sources."
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: ML100.G8 2001

Detailed and scholarly information on the history of the instrument and its repertory.

Grove Music Online
Includes: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1994), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (2013), and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (2014).

Woodwind Instruments - Oxford Bibliographies

Periodicals

Western Libraries subscribes to the following relevant periodicals (AKA journals or magazines):

The following Subject searches in the library catalogue may provide useful results: