Music - Resources by Instrument

Contact

Ask a Librarian

Clarinet

Fr. clarinette; Ger. Klarinette; It. clarinetto

Repertoire

Browse the Music Library shelves for scores.

Call number ranges with descriptions
Call numbers	Description
M 70 - 74	clarinet alone, with no accompaniment
M 248 - 252	clarinet with piano (sonatas = M 250)
M 1024	clarinet with full orchestra, concertos, etc.
M 1025	clarinet with full orchestra reduced for piano
M 1124	clarinet with string orchestra, concertos, etc.
M 1125	clarinet with piano reduction of string orchestra
MT 380 - 392.8	studies and methods for clarinet
MT 386	orchestral excerpts

The following sources are useful in identifying appropriate repertoire (alone and in combination with other instruments):

Klarinetten-Bibliographie by Eugen Brixel
Call Number: ML128.C58B74

Publication Date: 1977

The most extensive list of clarinet music. Includes citations for clarinet alone (Klarinette allein), and in combination with other instruments, and a bibliography.
The index of clarinet music by Wayne Wilkins
Call Number: ML128.C58W54

Publication Date: 1975

Less comprehensive than Brixel, this work lists some vocal music with clarinet.
New Directions for Clarinet by Phillip Rehfeldt
Call Number: ML945.R43 1994

The new edition has been completely rewritten, corrected where necessary, and updated. Rehfeldt has added the complete list of William O. Smith's clarinet compositions and recordings to the previous listing of his early multiphonic fingerings. The new edition also includes an appendix containing Eric Mandat's quarter-tone fingerings; a second, extensive music bibliography, the International Update; and an updated and annotated bibliography of music literature.
Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet by James E. Gillespie
Call Number: ML128.C58G54

Publication Date: 1973

Descriptions of twentieth-century solo clarinet literature include performance times and commentary on style and performance considerations of works published up to 1972.
A study of clarinet solo concerto literature composed before 1850: with selected items edited and arranged for contemporary use. (volumes I-II) by Gomer J Pound
Publication Date: 1965

Lists more than three hundred early published and unpublished clarinet concertos. Many items are not included in Brixel (presumably due to lack of availability).
Clarinet solos de concours, 1897-1980 : An annotated bibliography by Harry R. Gee
Call Number: ML128.C58G43 1981

Discussion of an extremely important section of the clarinet repertoire, much of which can be found in the Western Libraries Music Library (see Solo Music Reference Collection).
Concertos for clarinet : Sonatas for clarinet and piano by Burnet C. Tuthill
Call Number: ML128.C58T8

Publication Date: 1972
Repertory of the clarinet by Kalmen Opperman (Compiler)
Call Number: ML128.C58O6 1960

Includes a section on music for voice and clarinet.
Catalog of the International Clarinet Society Score Collection by International Clarinet Society, Research Center Staff
Call Number: ML136.A1I6 1982

One must be a member of the ICS in order to use this collection.
Orchestral Excerpts : A Comprehensive Index by Carolyn Rabson
Call Number: ML128.O5R2 1993

Provides an index to orchestral excerpts for all standard orchestral instruments.
Canadian chamber music = Musique de chambre canadienne
Call Number: ML128.C4C34 1980

This work also includes solo works for instrumentalists.

Recordings

clarinet AND discography (library catalogue search)
Audio and Video Resources
Western's Don Wright Faculty of Music Student / Faculty / Guest Artist Recitals

Performance Practice

Historically-informed performance is an ongoing consideration for all performers. The following sources may prove useful:

The Baroque Clarinet and Chalumeau by Albert R. Rice
Publication Date: 2020

"...Rice has updated his renowned study in a second edition, with new chapters on chalumeau and clarinet music, insights on newly found instruments and additional material on the Baroque clarinet in society. Expanding the volume to include the chalumeau, close cousin and predecessor to the clarinet, Rice draws on nearly three decades of new research on the instrument's origins and music."
The Clarinet in the Classical Period by Albert R. Rice
Publication Date: 2008

"...a comprehensive study of the clarinet in use through the classical period, from 1760 to 1830. ...provides a detailed review of the achievements of the period's most important clarinet makers... as well as the innovations of creative performers.... Rice offers new research regarding the practice of clef notation by Italian, French, and German composers, clarifying their use of transposing clarinets. The book also explores the creative relationships of two key trios of composer, maker, and performer...."
The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet by Colin J. Lawson (Editor); Jonathan Cross (Contribution by)
Call Number: ML945.C36 1995

Wide-ranging essays on all aspects of clarinet performance, from playing the clarinet’s precursors, to modern-day performance on today’s instruments.Tutors are recommended for those who wish to explore the world of the early clarinet. Contains fingering charts and recommendations for studies and orchestra excerpts.
Clarinet Secrets: 52 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Clarinetist by Michéle Gingras
Call Number: MT380.G55 2006

"...a 52-week course of performance strategies for advanced clarinetists. This revised edition contains updated information on harmonics and other techniques, electronic music and equipment, expanded techniques for playing Klezmer music, and new and updated photos and diagrams."
More Clarinet Secrets by Michèle Gingras
Call Number: MT380 .G56 2011

"...revealing secrets of the trade that can increase your chances of thriving as a clarinetist and musical professional. A sequel to Michele Gingras's highly praised first book... this new book is a treasure trove of completely new information on how to turn clarinetists into informed musicians, offering them the tools they need to compete in the music world. Topics discussed include technique, tone and intonation, musicianship, reeds and equipment, repertoire, musicians' health, and the music profession."
Performing Baroque Music by Mary Cyr
Call Number: ML457.C9 1992

"This practical guide is devoted to the important issues of baroque performance practice. Listeners and performers will find the analytical tools they need to understand and interpret period works. Scores for 11 works are included."
Rhythmic Alteration in 17th and 18th Century Music by Stephen E. Hefling
Call Number: ML437 .H43 1993

"...provides a comprehensive compendium of what is known about notes inegales and overdotting, including tables and summaries that make pertinent historical evidence readily accessible to performers and scholars alike."

One can often gain a useful perspective on performing practice by consulting the tutors and methods of past eras. These historical sources provide valuable information on fingerings, and how to perform figures, ornaments, crescendos, etc. The following sources may prove useful:

Clarinette: méthodes et traités ; dictionnaires by Lescat, Philippe Lescat (Editor); Jean Saint-Arroman (Editor)
Call Number: MT382.C544 2000

Reprints. Originally published between ca. 1760 and ca. 1800. Contains works and excerpts of works by V. Roeser, F.A.P. de Garsault, L.J. Francoeur, M. Corrette, J.M. Hotteterre-le-romain, J.B. de Laborde, Abraham, A. Van der Hagen, N.E. Framery and P.L. Ginguené, O.J. Vandenbrock, F. Blasius, M. Yost, and one anonymous author.
The history of musical instruments [electronic resource] : manuals, tutors and méthodes : a listing and guide to part one of the Research Publications Microfilm Collection by Tim Byard-Jones
Publication Date: 1988

part 1. Instrumental tutors from the Bate collection of musical instruments, Oxford and the private library of Philip Bate (10 reels) -- pt. 2. Tutors and methodes from the F.J. Fetis Collection at the Bibliotheque Royale Albert Ier, Brussels (26 reels).

Background and History

Relevant resources can be found by searching Western Libraries' catalogue using the following words in the Subject field.

The following sources may also be useful:

Clarinet virtuosi of the past by Pamela Weston
Call Number: ML399.W48

Publication Date: 1971
More clarinet virtuosi of the past by Pamela Weston
Call Number: ML399.W49

Publication Date: 1977
A Dictionary for the Modern Clarinetist by Jane Ellsworth; David Daniels
Call Number: ML102.C54E45 2015

"...the premiere reference book for information about this remarkable instrument. Containing over 400 terms, Ellsworth covers the clarinet's history (including both modern and historical instruments, common and rare), acoustics, construction, fingering systems and mechanisms, and techniques, as well as its more important performers, makers, and scholars."
The Clarinet by Eric Hoeprich
Call Number: ML945.H64 2008

"...explores [the clarinet's] development, repertoire, and performance history. Looking at the antecedents of the clarinet, as well as such related instruments as the chalumeau, basset horn, alto clarinet, and bass clarinet, Hoeprich explains the use and development of the instrument in the Baroque age. The period from the late 1700s to Beethoven's early years is shown to have fostered ever wider distribution and use of the instrument, and a repertoire of increasing richness. The first half of the nineteenth century, a golden age for the clarinet, brought innovation in construction and great virtuosity in performance, while the following century and a half produced a surge in new works from many composers."
The Versatile Clarinet by Roger Heaton
Call Number: ML948.V47 2006

See the chapters on jazz clarinet performance and issues in the performance of new music.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: ML100.G8 2001

ISBN: 1561592390

Publication Date: 2003-02-11

Detailed and scholarly information on the history of the instrument and its repertory.

Woodwind Instruments - Oxford Bibliographies

Grove Music Online
Includes: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1994), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (2013), and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (2014).

Periodicals

Western Libraries subscribes to the following relevant periodicals (AKA journals or magazines):

The following Subject searches in the library catalogue may provide useful results: