Music - Resources by Instrument

A massive research effort by leading professional tubists in 36 countries presents a comprehensive picture of the tuba. The ""baby"" of the orchestra, the tuba was ""born"" in 1835. The first major solo compositions for the instrument appeared only in the 1950s, but in the next forty years the body of literature for the tuba increased at an amazing pace. The first several chapters of The Tuba Source Book identify that literature by ensemble type. They provide bibliographic data and descriptions of 1,900 pieces for tuba and keyboard, 234 for tuba and band, 1,056 for tuba ensemble, 106 for tuba and strings, and 258 for unaccompanied tuba, as well as hundreds of works in other categories and 456 methods and studies. The chapter entitled ""Recommended Basic Repertoire"" is subdivided by level, from high school through professional, and ""Orchestral Excerpts"", in addition to listing 146 works that every tubist should know, includes advice on how to audition. The Tuba Source Book also offers an extensive discography (400 entries), a very complete bibliography, biographies of professional tubists, career advice, guidelines for composing and arranging music for the tuba, and lists of instrument builders and sources of tuba equipment. This encyclopedic volume fills a need for tubists at all levels of study and accomplishment. It is invaluable for composers, music educators, conductors, administrators, librarians, historians, and everyone who enjoys the art of tuba performance.

Guide to the Tuba Repertoire is the most comprehensive investigation ever undertaken into the literature and discography of any single musical instrument. Under the direction of R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni, this publication represents more than 40 years of research by dozens of leading professionals throughout the world. The guide defines the current status of the tuba and documents its growth since its inception in 1835. Contributors are Ron Davis, Jeffrey Funderburk, David Graves, Skip Gray, Charles A. McAdams, R. Winston Morris, Mark A. Nelson, Timothy J. Northcut, Daniel Perantoni, Philip Sinder, Joseph Skillen, Kenyon Wilson, and Jerry A. Young.

"This is a valuable reference tool for any serious tuba scholar." --TUBA Journal Reviews " . . . an excellent resource . . . " --American Music Teacher Program notes, written by the composers themselves, describe 88 works for the solo tuba. Includes works for the tuba alone, tuba and piano, and tuba with other types of accompaniment. Each entry gives complete publication data, a history of the piece, its instrumentation and movements, and a description of its musical structure and characteristics. Gary Bird provides an invaluable resource for students, teachers, and professional performers in building repertoire and in gaining insight into a vital body of contemporary music.

Contains annotated listings of French literature for tenor trombone, bass trombone, tuba, and bass saxhorn, as well as repertoire suitable for the modern euphonium. Intended for teachers and students, this book also provides separate listings of pedagogical materials for each of these four instruments.

The modern day tubist has an expanded collection of solo tuba repertoire that continues to grow in quantity and in difficulty, making it necessary to utilize all the tools available to improve musicianship and performance ability. In this capacity, the use of transcribed material serves as a vital method of cross training in order to develop skills which assist the performance of modern tuba literature. Rather than focusing on transcriptions solely to engage with musical eras that the tuba would not otherwise have access to, the tubist can use transcribed material as supplementary or even prerequisite repertoire. This project examines a cross training style of studying transcriptions for the advancing tubist. Similar to how athletes cross train in two or more sports to improve their abilities, the tubist may cross train with transcriptions in order to improve the technical and musical skills required in modern tuba literature. Transcribed materials will be used to develop facility in the areas of technique, phrasing, and stylistic interpretation using three unique pieces of standard solo tuba repertoire; Krzysztof Penderecki’s Capriccio, the John Williams Tuba Concerto, and Anthony Plog’s Three Miniatures.

A stimulating collection of unique concepts on becoming a successful performer by 57 of today's most outstanding brass professionals. Contains to-the-point, thought-provoking ideas proven successful by master teacher-performers. Problem-solving tips, philosophical concepts and technique-building skills, all in one easy-to-read collection. An ideal source of exciting strategies for all levels of development.

The first study of the performance practice, repertoire and context of the modern 'brass ensemble' in the musical world. Whereas the British 'brass band' originated in the nineteenth century and rapidly developed into a nationwide working-class movement, the perceived modern 'brass ensemble' has a less clear foundation and identity. This book is the first to focus exclusively on the performance, practice, repertoire and context of the 'brass ensemble' in the musical world. Following World War II, the brass quintet and other orchestral groupings emerged in the United States and Europe, with musical customs established by professional players playing orchestral instruments. These groups initially played a combination of the music of Gabrieli and his contemporaries as well as newly commissioned works. By the late twentieth century, however, repertory spanned works by Elliott Carter, Maxwell Davies and Lutosławski, together with music that integrated jazz, commercial elements, and landmark transcriptions. At the book's heart is the story of the London-based, internationally acclaimed, Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. But this is not a story of one ensemble, as the 'brass ensemble' can be defined in several forms. The Modern Brass Ensemble in Twentieth-Century Britain offers a comprehensive account by an author and performer who was involved in many of the key developments of the modern 'brass ensemble'.

This Companion covers many diverse aspects of brass instruments and in such detail. It provides an overview of the history of brass instruments, and their technical and musical development. Although the greatest part of the volume is devoted to the western art music tradition, with chapters covering topics from the medieval to the contemporary periods, there are important contributions on the ancient world, non-western music, vernacular and popular traditions and the rise of jazz. Despite the breadth of its narrative, the book is rich in detail, with an extensive glossary and bibliography. The editors are two of the most respected names in the world of brass performance and scholarship, and the list of contributors includes the names of many of the world's most prestigious scholars and performers on brass instruments.