Repertoire bibliographies list compositions for specific instruments or ensembles. This section contains sample items in the Music Library collection. This list does not represent everything available from Western Libraries.
Keyboard Music of Black Composers by Aaron Horne
Call Number: ML128.B45H68 1992
Following the pattern established with his pioneering works String Music of Black Composers and Woodwind Music of Black Composers, Aaron Horne now presents a comparable work for the piano and related instruments (such as accordion, harpsichord, and organ). Composers from Africa as well as the Diaspora are covered in this volume, the most comprehensive work on the topic yet published.
Piano Music by Black Women Composers by Helen Walker-Hill
Call Number: ML128.P3W3 1992
Proceeding from a desire to use music of black women composers in her piano performance and teaching, Helen Walker-Hill has dedicated herself to uncovering this material, utilizing secondary sources and numerous archives, conducting interviews with composers, and engaging in voluminous correspondence with individuals and institutions. The result is the most comprehensive catalog of music composed by African American women to date. The depth of detail required limiting the scope to solo and ensemble piano music.
String Music of Black Composers by Aaron Horne
Call Number: ML128.B45H7 1991
Following the pattern established with his pioneering work, Woodwind Music of Black Composers, Aaron Horne now presents a comparable work for the string music of Black composers. Composers from Africa as well as the Diaspora are covered in this, the most comprehensive work on the topic yet published.
Woodwind Music of Black Composers by Aaron Horne
Call Number: ML128.W5H65 1990
This pioneering volume will become the standard source of information on nineteenth and twentieth century Black composers from three continents as well as their woodwind compositions. It contains the most current and complete biographical data on 90 African composers, Afro-American composers, Afro-Latin composers, and Afro-European composers, including their education and professional experience and information on their continuing musical influence.
Western Libraries' catalogue does not identify individual composers or compositions by race or ethnicity. You may wish to identify composers or compositions of interest using the following resources, and then search Omni.
- The Institute for Composer Diversity - includes Composer Diversity Database and Works Diversity Database
- The Composer Equity Project (linked PDF) - by Chamber Music America - "A Database of ALAANA*, Women, and Gender Non-Conforming Composers" - "*Chamber Music America uses the acronym ALAANA to indicate composers who identify as African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American"
- Theodore Front Musical Literature - "Explore Music by Black Composers"
- A Seat at the Piano - "Promoting Inclusion in Piano Repertoire" - Scores, Recordings, Leveling - "A resource for pianists, pedagogues, and curious music appreciators to explore."
A Selection of Composers with Repertoire in Western Libraries' Collections
The following anthologies contain scores by Black composers in the Western Classical tradition.
The following is a selection of Black composers represented in the Music Library's score collection.