Why use books?
Books are an excellent resource when needing to find general information on a topic. Books help you understand a topic in context, contain summaries of research, and can offer a historical perspective. Books are best found using Omni, the library search tool. Need help locating a book? Stop by the Service Desk or contact us.
Books in the Beryl Ivey Library
Nonprofit Fundraising 101 by
Call Number: HD2769.15.H49 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Raise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
Managing Human Behavior in Public and Nonprofit Organizations by
Publication Date: 2016
Managing Human Behavior in Public and Nonprofit Organizations helps you understand, manage, and influence the behaviour of others in the workplace. Taking an action-oriented approach the authors use real-world circumstances within public and non-profit organisations to illustrate key concepts. Important topics such as stress, decision making, motivation, leadership, communication, teams, and change give you a foundational understanding of the basic issues that affect human behaviour. In addition to new cases and examples from the public and non-profit sectors, this edition features new material on leadership and organisational change, cultural diversity and generational diversity, and positive organisational behaviour. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New material on leadership and organisational change build your critical management and leadership skills, so you can act effectively and responsibly under real -world pressures Expanded coverage of cultural diversity helps you understand, communicate with, and effectively interact with people across cultures, as well as work with varying cultural beliefs and schedules Expanded coverage of positive organisational behaviour includes the latest research and findings that demonstrate the successful implementation of positive psychology in the workplace New cases, examples, self-assessments, and exercises bring concepts to life with relevant ways to practice and improve your management skills. A companion website will be available for lecturers at study.sagepub.com/denhardt4e featuring additional teaching resources.
Case Studies of Nonprofit Organizations and Volunteers by
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Given the increasing presence of nonprofit organizations and their impact upon American society, colleges and universities are recognizing the need to offer courses and programs to train current and future employees, volunteers, and supporters of the nonprofit sector. This volume, featuring empirically-based case studies, provides an opportunity to analyze communication and other organizational issues in nonprofit, volunteer, and philanthropic contexts. Each case is designed to help readers critically think about the particular nonprofit context, the organizational issues presented, the ways in which those issues could be addressed, whose interests are served, and potential consequences for the organization and its various stakeholders. This collection offers a unique glimpse into everyday issues and challenges related to working in and with nonprofit organizations, making it a valuable resource for undergraduate and graduate courses in nonprofit management, nonprofit communication, voluntarism, philanthropic studies, and social entrepreneurship. Each case also addresses a broader conceptual or theoretical framework of organizational studies, making it appropriate in other organizational communication courses as well.
Cases in Innovative Nonprofits by
Call Number: HD62.6.C36 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Cases in Innovative Nonprofits provides you with current comparative case studies of innovative non-profit organizations that are meeting the needs of humanity around the world. It provides inspiring examples of social entrepreneurs who have instituted new services to meet the needs of both new and long standing social problems. Each case features either an unidentified need and its successful response, or an existing need that was tackled in a unique and innovative manner. By using a simple, identical format for each case, this text facilitates your learning through comparative review, providing a deeper understanding about the complexity and steps required to achieve non-profit social innovation. KEY FEATURES: Each case is based on a common outline that allows you to easily navigate them and make comparisons Concluding "Lessons Learned" chapter provides a summary of the themes that emerge from the cases and gives you an outline of the practical dimensions involved in carrying out non-profit innovations A broad array of non-profit innovations from around the world provides a balanced picture of the sector and shows commonalities between cases that come from different countries, regions, and fields Discussion questions at the end of each case ask you to reflect and analyse the innovation as well think creatively and initiate successful innovations.
Performance Management in Nonprofit Organizations by
Publication Date: 2015
With increased competition for external funding, technological advancement, and public expectations for transparency, not-for-profit and non-governmental organizations are facing new challenges and pressures. While research has explored the roles of accounting, accountability, and performance management in nonprofit organizations, we still lack evidence on the best practices these organizations implement in the areas of accountability and performance management. This book collects and presents that evidence for the first time, offering insights to help nonprofits face these new challenges head-on. Performance Management in Nonprofit Organizations focuses on both conventional and contemporary issues facing nonprofits, presenting evidence-based insights from leading scholars in the field. Chaptersnbsp;examine the design, implementation, and working of accounting, accountability, governance, and performance management measures, providing both retrospective and contemporary views, as well as critical commentaries on accounting and performance related issuesnbsp;innbsp;nonprofit organizationsnbsp;The book's contributors also offer critical commentariesnbsp;on the changing role of accounting and performance management in this sector. This research-based collection is an interesting and useful read for academics, practitioners, students, and consultants in nonprofit organizations, and is highly accessible to accounting and non-accounting audiences alike.
Understanding the Social Economy by
Call Number: HD2769.2.C2Q37 2018
Publication Date: 2018
In Understanding the Social Economy, Jack Quarter, Laurie Mook, and Ann Armstrong integrate a wide array of organizations founded upon a social mission - social enterprises, nonprofits, co-operatives, credit unions, and community development associations - under the rubric of the 'social economy.' This framework facilitates a comprehensive study of Canada's social sector, an area often neglected in the business curricula despite the important role that these organizations play in Canada's economy. Invaluable for business programs that address issues such as community economic development, co-operatives, and nonprofit studies and management, Understanding the Social Economy presents a unique set of case studies as well as chapters on organizational design and governance, social finance and social accounting, and accountability. The examples provide much needed context for students and allow for an original and in-depth examination of the relationships between Canada's social infrastructure and the public and private sectors. With this work, Quarter, Mook, and Armstrong illuminate a neglected facet of business studies to further our understanding of the Canadian economy.