Nonprofit Management - Brescia

This is the Nonprofit Management guide which will help you do research for your courses in your Nonprofit Management Program

How to use Reference Resources

Reference sources are the place to start when you need to know more about a certain topic. Materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks can assist you in establishing keywords and focusing your topic. General reference sources can be found online and in our main floor reference collection. Need help? Come to the Service Desk or contact us.

Online Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of Management 6th Ed by Gale (Firm) Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2009-03-27
This updated fifth edition of Encyclopedia of Management covers more than 300 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals.
A Dictionary of Business and Management by Jonathan Law
Publication Date: 2009-04-25
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries - 200 new to this edition - covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behavior, business strategy, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, this new edition features the very latest terminology, including recent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the subprime lending crisis (e.g. collateralized debt obligation and special purpose vehicle). Written in a clear, concise, and accessible manner, it contains American business terms, general management concepts (competence, knowledge management), named theories (Tannenbaum and Schmidt, Blake and Mouton) as well as expanded coverage of the contemporary theory of the firm and human resources. New terms are included from the fast-moving areas of current affairs (MiFID), Internet business, and information technology. With recommended web links for many entries, updated via the books companion web site, this edition is more informative than ever - essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and invaluable for anyone needing a guide to business terminology.
The Blackwell encyclopedia of management by Cary L. Cooper
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series is comprised of 11 stand-alone volumes, each covering a major subject area in the field. All of the volumes provide informative definitions and explanation of the key concepts in their area. For students, researchers, academics and practitioners, the books are designed as a reference, bringing together specially-commissioned and edited entries from an international team of scholars and teachers.
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management by Edmund Heery; Mike Noon
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
The authoritative source of precise and easy to understand definitions of words, terms, and phrases that are used in the fields of Human Resource Management, Personnel, and Industrial Relations, this new edition of the Dictionary of Human Resource Management has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect changes in vocabulary and usage.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online access to the complete full text of numerous reference works from Gale with titles such as Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Global Brands, Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns and Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies

E-books

Nonprofit Governance by Chris Cornforth (Editor); William A. Brown (Editor)
The current fashion for rolling back the state has seen the nonprofit or third sector playing an increasing role in what were previously the heartlands of the public sphere. The growing significance of the sector and its increasing reliance on public funds mean it has also attracted increased scrutiny. From outside the sector concerns have been raised about the accountability and performance of nonprofit organizations. From within the sector there has been considerable debate about whether the increased reliance on government contracts is in danger of undermining the sector s independence. As a result the spotlight has fallen on governance arrangements and whether they are adequate to ensure that nonprofit organizations are effective and accountable for their actions, and able to retain their independence. This collection offers a comprehensive assessment of research on the governance of nonprofit organizations."
Cause for Change by Kari Dunn Saratovsky; Derrick Feldmann; Jean Case (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
A nonprofit leader′s guide for engaging millennials in all aspects of a nonprofit organization Written by Millennials about Millennials, Cause for Change examines strategies for engaging Millennials as constituents, volunteers, and donors, and focuses on how organizations can realign themselves to better respond to this group of 80 million strong. At the heart of this research-based guide is the Millennial Development Platform, an action-based rubric developed by the authors and included in each chapter to help organizations create the infrastructure for a long-term millennial engagement strategy. Examines how Millennials communicate, volunteer, take action, influence their peers, and choose to give their time and money Explains how Millennials view their role in the workplace, and how their approach is re-shaping nonprofit culture from within Cause for Change profiles Millennials who have emerged as dynamic leaders to create and manage movements in their communities.
Winning Grants Step by Step: the Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing and Writing Successful Proposals by O'Neal-McElrath, Tori,
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Previous Praise for Winning Grants Step by Step "Warning: this book works. It provokes you to ask the right questions, hand-holds you through practical exercises, and offers a map that includes paths to develop strategic relationships with funders." --E. Eduardo Romero, Nonprofit Roundtable "Winning Grants Step by Step is a very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. fundraising consultant, I believe it will help my clients and colleagues alike." --Maria Gitin, CFRE, Maria Gitin & Associates

Websites

Canada Business Ontario: Not-for-Profit Guide
Canada Revenue Agency: Charities
- Search the online list of Canadian charities. View a charity's information return to learn about their finances and activities.
Canadian Book of Charities
- The most up-to-date information on charitable organizations in Canada.
Sector Source
- Connects charities and nonprofits with resources about managing, developing and overseeing their organizations (from website).
Centre for Social Innovation
- A social enterprise with a mission to catalyze social innovation in Toronto and round the world (from website).
Not-for-Profit Incorporators' Handbook
- Prepared jointly by the Companies Branch of the Ministry of Consumer and Commercial Relations and the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee for Ontario, Charitable Property Division, this guide walks you through the steps of incorporating a nonprofit corporation in the province of Ontario (from website).
Charity Village
- Charity Village has become the Canadian nonprofit sector's largest and most popular online resource for recruiting, news and how-to information (from website).
Ontario Nonprofit Network
- The provincial network for the approximately 55,000 nonprofit organizations across Ontario. As a 7,000-strong provincial network, with a volunteer base of 300 sector leaders, ONN brings the diverse voices of the sector to government, funders and business to create and influence systemic change (from website).

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2024 12:14 PM
URL: https://guides.lib.uwo.ca/nonprofitmanagement
Print Page

Subjects: Nonprofit Management

Tags: Brescia, non-profit management, nonprofit managment