Business Databases by Subject

Contact:

text: 226-777-3039

call: 519-661-3941

Best Bets

MarketLine Advantage
Includes industry, company, and country information. Industry reports include market size, segmentation, and five forces analysis. Company profiles include SWOT analysis. Country reports provide PESTLE analysis.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Country analysis and forecasts highlight political, economic, and business developments in significant markets, both established and emerging. Also includes daily analysis and views on business, economic trends, and political and market developments from around the world.
Political Risk Yearbook
Political and economic risk analysis of countries.

Fitch Connect
Provides information on global markets, including risk ratings, finance, macroeconomic performance, and outlook and forecasting across industry sectors. Popular risk indices include ESG Country Index, Country Risk Index, and Political Risk Index. To access, click on SSO beside Sign In and use Western as your Organization ID. You will then be prompted to login with your Western ID and password.
Statista
Consolidates statistical data from various sources to provide insights on industries, markets, and consumers. To find country reports, in the top menu click Reports > Country Reports and Outlooks > Country Outlooks.
Europa World Plus
Includes political, economic, and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations.
Mergent Online
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country reports. To find Country Profiles, look for the grey box on the Basic Search tab with a drop-down list of countries.
Business Source Complete
Scholarly articles in all disciplines of business. Also includes news articles, company profiles, industry and market reports, and country reports. Search for the country name and then under the Refine Results menu, select Country Report as the Source Type.

FAO Country Profiles
Country information on the agricultural sector, food security and safety, diseases and pests, economic situation and more from the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).
World Competitiveness Online
Annual report and worldwide reference point on the competitiveness of global economies.
GlobalEDGE
Created by Michigan State University. Includes historical, government, economic, and political information for countries.
Global Affairs Canada
Comprehensive view of Canada’s travel advice and advisories, basic country information, Canadian government office abroad, and info about Canada’s international development assistance in that country.
BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide a guide to history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Database for the study of modern Asia Pacific, which includes reports on the subjects of business, government, economics, and social issues. Country coverage includes all of Asia, Australia, New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim, and Pacific Islands. Also includes economic, financial, and social data for this region.

Encyclopedia of Nations
Provides detailed information about a country’s geography, population, history, ethnic groups, culture, language, transportation, government structure, etc.
Doing Business (The World Bank)
Provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
IMF Country Information
Includes press releases, letters of intent, IMF disbursements and country repayments.