Business Databases by Subject

Extensive collection of graduate works. Historic and ongoing coverage for North America and significant and growing international coverage.

Produced by the American Economic Association, as an index to articles in journals, books, dissertations and weekly newspapers. Covers both economic theory and application.

Provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts. Create custom data reports by country or region and year(s), including GDP, growth/productivity, population, income, market size, fiscal and monetary indicators, employment, wage and price figures, investment and debt.

Provides financial, political and economic information on emerging markets. Select Client Login in top right corner. Then click Full Subscription or the specific geographic region of interest and click Continue.

Includes political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.

Extensive access to news coverage from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages. Company and industry information is also available: Select Companies/Markets in top menu bar.

Produced by Hoover's, these research industry profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecasts for U.S. industries.

In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage.

Provides in-depth market research reports, economic and political risk ratings, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity with a focus on emerging markets. Also includes profiles for multinational companies and their subsidiaries.

Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2014, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2022.

Provides searchable, detailed information on all Canadian grant making foundations, hundreds of corporate community investment programs, as well as government funding programs and American foundations that will fund Canadian charities.

Provides industry research reports, including coverage of Ontario industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.

Research database for articles, articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical standards covering the areas of computer science, electrical engineering, and allied fields.

The International Monetary Fund publishes a vast amount of information on its own activities and policies, as well as on its 186 member countries.

Provides citation data for the purposes of journal evaluation. The JCR can show you: journal impact factors, highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, hottest journals and largest journals.

Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources for the social sciences and humanities.

Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with ratios organized by SIC and NAICS codes.

Provided by CPA Canada and includes access to CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPACHB), International Financial Reporting Standards, Federal Income Tax Collection, Historical GST/HST and Excise Tax Legislation Collection, and other collections.

Includes information on leisure, tourism, hospitality, sport and culture from the 1970s to present.

Provides access to company, industry and country profiles.

Provides access to global historic and current corporate and industry related documents.

Provides company information for private and public companies and consumer demographics. Select Advanced Search to include Canadian and International companies. Scroll down on the database homepage to find the Consumer Data and Demographics collections.

Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data, broker analyst research reports, and more.

Contains market sizes, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.

Country and category specific reports with quantitative and qualitative market, brand and consumer insights.

Access to full-text documents, including international and Canadian news, legislation, company profiles, industry reports, and more.

Provides profiles of companies worldwide as well as industry information. Search by company name, ticker symbol, company type, city, province/state, or country To access: click on the top Menu button (beside Nexis Uni logo) and select Company Dossier.

CountryWatch Reviews Includes geographic, demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information on countries. To access this publication, click on the top Menu button (beside Nexis Uni logo) > All Sources > Search ‘CountryWatch Reviews’. In the results, click on the three dots beside the name to see more information about this source, add it to your search, or to see all of the documents.

CSRHub ESG Ratings Provides consensus ratings of a company’s environmental, social, and governance performance as a lever to improve corporate sustainability. To access: click Advanced Search, enter the name of the company in the main search box, and type CSRHub in the search box under the Source heading.

Hoover’s Company Records Contains information for more than 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide. In-Depth records include overviews and histories, up to 10 years of key financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, and contact info. To access this publication, click on the top Menu button (beside Nexis Uni logo) > Business Look for ‘Hoover’s Company Records – In-depth Records’ under the Featured Publications Heading. Click on ‘Get Documents’ and enter a company name under the Search Within Results.

Resource for Canadian model legal forms and precedents, which can be edited and adapted as needed. Includes standard clauses as well as alternate clauses, commentary, and checklists in drafting agreements. In the All Content Tab look under the Forms and Precedents heading.

A digital repository and data exploration, extraction and analysis stool for social science data, including polling data.

Contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

Provides access to a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.

Includes the policy-oriented literature of economics, political science, public administration, international law, international relations, the environment, demography, business, education, and social work.

Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, M&A, funds, debt and lenders, advisors, and professionals. Activate your account through Single Sign-On (SSO). Note that PitchBook requires users to reset their accounts annually.

Gives political and economic risk analysis. Published annually in January, every report in the Yearbook is updated each year to include the latest report for each country, as of December of the previous year.

Provides online access to local, regional and international newspapers and magazines, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. Using the mobile app requires an account renewal every 7 days by connecting to Press Reader while on campus.

Includes financial data on major private companies. Includes financials and revenues, M&A deals, firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, and family ownership data. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email.

Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press, which cover the topics in the social sciences, humanities and mathematics.

Historical reports for American companies from as far back as 1844.

Market research reports in the fields of energy, healthcare, and consumer markets.

Market research reports in the fields of energy, healthcare, and consumer markets.

Supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Includes books, journal articles, case studies, and instructional videos on quantitative and qualitative research methods.

Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Data visualization tool that allows users to create thematic maps, charts, and reports using demographic, business, consumer behaviour, and marketing data. Use of certain features requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email. Instructions for creating an account.

Research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information that can be used to create maps and reports. Primarily US information, but also includes the Canadian census, the UK census, European Statistics Data, and World Development Indicators

Consolidates statistical data from various sources to provide insights on industries, markets, and consumers. Use the Insights menu to access Market Insights (forecasts and Key Performance Indicators) and Consumer Insights (interactive tool for comparing and analyzing consumer behaviour and attitudes – includes Brand Profiler Tool).

Provides monthly and daily data on TSE stocks and indexes. Data include closing prices, price/earnings ratios, stock adjustments, exchange rates and interest rates.

Offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.

Provides advertising spending costs for US brands, companies, and ad agencies. Use this resource to find specific people responsible for advertising/marketing for a brand or company. Select Creative Library to search AdForum for ads by brand, agency, industry, and other categories.

Collection of development indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources, offers the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.