Researching your competitors and other companies operating in the same industry can help you understand the strengths and weaknesses of your business. The top sources for finding information on both public and private companies are listed below.
For more sources, use our Company Research guide.
You can use these resources to both:
Because private companies are not required to disclose information, it can be difficult to find any information about them. These databases compile information from news and other sources to provide as much information as possible on private companies.
Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, and M&A. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email Click here for Instructions for creating an account
Company directory that includes private and public U.S., Canadian, and global businesses. Contains global corporate family trees, executive search capabilities, and the ability to generate company lists by size, industry, location, and other criteria.
Federal securities laws require public companies to disclose financial information. These databases take this publicly available information and analyze and repackage it into more accessible formats.
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes an executive search, industry reports for select industries, and supply chain information.
Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, and M&A. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email Click here for Instructions for creating an account
Company directory that includes private and public U.S., Canadian, and global businesses. Contains global corporate family trees, executive search capabilities, and the ability to generate company lists by size, industry, location, and other criteria.
These are online company directories that can be used to identify suppliers including wholesalers, manufacturers, and distributors.
Company directory that includes private and public U.S., Canadian, and global businesses. Contains global corporate family trees, executive search capabilities, and the ability to generate company lists by size, industry, location, and other criteria.
