Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Foods Management Program is interdisciplinary, with courses areas such as in Food and Nutrition, Management & Organizational Studies, and Leadership. You will find resources and assistance here to help you with your research, projects, and course work. In addition to this, you can meet with a librarian to discuss specific research questions or even just to brainstorm. Our research coaches are here to help!
Beryl Ivey Library Team @ Brescia University College
Featured New Titles
The latest version of the Canada Food Guide can be viewed online at: https://food-guide.canada.ca/en/
We are always ordering new materials for our collection. Browse the latest Foods Management purchases below.
Not finding exactly what you're looking for? Why not try checking out our other Related Guides!:
Food Wastes and By-Products by
Publication Date: 2019-11-15
A complete guide to the evolving methods by which we may recover by-products and significantly reduce food waste Across the globe, one third of cereals and almost half of all fruits and vegetables go to waste. The cost of such waste - both to economies and to the environment - is a serious and increasing concern within the food industry. If we are to overcome this crisis and move towards a sustainable future, we must do everything possible to utilize innovative new methods of extracting and processing valuable by-products of all kinds. Food Wastes and By-products represents a complete primer to this important and complex process. Edited and written by leading researchers, the text provides essential information on the supply of waste and its composition, identifies foods rich in valuable bioactive compounds, and explores revolutionary methods for creating by-products from fruit, vegetable, and seed waste. Other chapters discuss the nutraceutical properties of value-added by-products and their uses in the manufacturing of dietary fibers, food flavors, supplements, pectin, and more. This book: Explains how reconstituted by-products can best be used to radically reduce food waste Discusses the potential nutraceutical assets of recovered food waste Covers a broad range of by-product sources, such as mangos, cacao, flaxseed, and spent coffee grounds Describes novel extraction processes and the emerging use of nanotechnology A significant contribution to the field, Food Wastes and By-products is a timely and essential resource for food industry professionals, government agencies and NGOs involved in nutrition, agriculture, and food production, and university instructors and students in related areas.
Using Scanner Data for Food Policy Research by
Publication Date: 2019-10-12
Using Scanner Data for Food Policy Research is a practitioners' guide to using and interpreting scanner data obtained from stores and households in policy research. It provides practical advice for using the data and interpreting their results. It helps the reader address key methodological issues such as aggregation, constructing price indices, and matching the data to nutrient values. It demonstrates some of the key econometric and statistical applications of the data, including estimating demand systems for policy simulation, analyzing effects of food access on food choices, and conducting cost-benefit analysis of food policies. This guide is intended for early-career researchers, particularly those working with scanner data in agricultural and food economics, nutrition, and public health contexts. Describe different types of scanner data, the types of information available in the data, and the vendors that offer these data Describe food-label data that can be appended to scanner data Identify key questions that researchers should consider when acquiring scanner and label data for food policy research Demonstrate how to use scanner data using tools from econometric and statistical analyses, including the limitations in interpreting results using the data Describe and resolve key methodological issues related to using the data to facilitate more rapid analyses Provide an overview of published literature as background for designing new studies Demonstrate key applications of the data for food policy research
Food Safety by
Publication Date: 2018-01-09
Food safety is a multi-faceted subject, using microbiology, chemistry, standards and regulations, and risk management to address issues involving bacterial pathogens, chemical contaminants, natural toxicants, additive safety, allergens, and more. This revised edition has been updated with the latest information on food safety. It addresses all the topics pertinent to a full understanding of keeping the food we eat safe. Each chapter of Food Safety: The Science of Keeping Food Safe, Second Edition proceeds from introductory concepts and builds towards a sophisticated treatment of the topic, allowing the reader to take what knowledge is required for understanding food safety at a wide range of levels. Illustrated with photographs and examples throughout, this new edition also boasts 4 new chapters covering radioactivity in food; food terrorism; food authenticity; and food supplements. * This second edition has been revised and updated throughout to include the latest topics in this fast-moving field * Includes 4 brand new chapters on radioactivity in food, food terrorism, food authenticity, and food supplements * The most readable and user-friendly food safety book for students, scientists, regulators, and general readers Food Safety is the ideal starting point for students and non-specialists seeking to learn about food safety issues, and an enjoyable and stylish read for those who already have an academic or professional background in the area.
Preparation and Processing of Religious and Cultural Foods by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Preparation and Processing of Religious and Cultural Foods covers the production and processing of foods from major religions, focusing on the intersection of religion, science and cultural perceptions in the production and processing of modern religious and vegetarian foods. Quality control and authentication technologies are looked at in-depth, while nutrition, antioxidants, aging, hygiene and other long-term health factors are presented from a scientific standpoint. Bringing together the top scientific researchers on this essential topic of importance to a huge percentage of the world's population, this book is ideal for food company innovation and R&D managers, producers and processors of religious foods. Religious groups have often been slow in implementing recent science and technology breakthroughs employed in the preparation, processing and packaging of various foods. This book provides a culturally sensitive coverage of these areas with an aim to encourage advancement. Covers the production and processing of major religious foods, namely Muslim, Christian, Jewish, Hindu and Buddhist Presents nutritional, antioxidant, aging, hygiene and other long-term health factors from a scientific standpoint Encourages advancement in the preparation, processing and packaging of religious foods using information cultivated from top scientific researchers in the field
Food Safety and Inspection by
Call Number: TX531.S65 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
The process of food inspection relies on an inspector's understanding of the intrinsic hazards associated with individual foods. Whereas spoilage can usually be determined through a simple organoleptic assessment, the judgment of whether a food is fit for human consumption requires an evaluation of health hazards, many of which may not be apparent through physical assessment. Instead the inspector must analyze and integrate scientific and handling information to evaluate the potential health risk. Adulteration of foods is also becoming an increasing problem, and the complexity of the food supply chain requires an understanding of risk points to allow targeted inspection and assessment. Food Safety and Inspection: An Introduction focuses on food categories and describes common hazards associated with each, using published peer-reviewed research to explain and evaluate the health risk. It is a practical textbook designed to support the role of food inspection in a modern food industry. There are seven chapters looking at specific aspects of food safety, including a chapter on fraud and adulteration. This book summarizes relevant published research to provide a scientific context for specific food safety issues, and is an essential read for anyone interested in becoming a food inspector.