Business Databases by Subject

Business Research Help

Contact:

text: 226-777-3039

call: 519-661-3941

PitchBook
Offers in-depth information on private and public companies, investors, deals, M&A, funds, debt and lenders, advisors, and professionals. Activate your account through Single Sign-On (SSO). Note that PitchBook requires users to reset their accounts annually.

Can't access Pitchbook? Read more to find solutions.

Mergent Online
Contains business and financial data on all public (active and inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes an executive search, industry reports for select industries, and supply chain information.
Mergent Intellect
Company directory that includes private and public U.S., Canadian, and global businesses. Contains global corporate family trees, executive search capabilities, and the ability to generate company lists by size, industry, location, and other criteria.

PrivCo
Includes financial data on major private companies. Includes financials and revenues, M&A deals, firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, and family ownership data. Requires the creation of a personal account with your Western email.
Nexis Uni Company Dossier
Provides profiles of companies worldwide as well as industry information. Search by company name, ticker symbol, company type, city, province/state, or country To access: click on the top Menu button (beside Nexis Uni logo) and select Company Dossier.
Statista
Consolidates statistical data from various sources to provide insights on industries, markets, and consumers. Use the Insights menu to access Market Insights (forecasts and Key Performance Indicators) and Consumer Insights (interactive tool for comparing and analyzing consumer behaviour and attitudes – includes Brand Profiler Tool).
Factiva
Extensive access to news coverage from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages. Company and industry information is also available: Select Companies/Markets in top menu bar.
MarketLine Advantage
Includes industry, company, and country information. Industry reports include market size, segmentation, and five forces analysis. Company profiles include SWOT analysis. Country reports provide PESTLE analysis.

Bloomberg Professional Services
Financial services platform that provides analysis and quotes for equities, indices bonds, commodities, currencies and funds, company and economic data, industry and market news, and advanced analytical and data functions.
Only available in the C.B. “Bud” Johnston Library. Please book a time to ensure availability.
S&P Capital IQ
A single source for a powerful array of financial data, analytics and research.
Available in the C.B. “Bud” Johnston Library. Please book a time to ensure availability.
Refinitiv LSEG Workspace
Access global financial data, market analytics, and business news.
Available in the C.B. “Bud” Johnston Library. Please book a time to ensure availability.

Mergent Archives
Includes historical collection of annual reports and industry reports. Also includes the Corporate Manuals, which provide corporate history, business descriptions and financial information for publicly traded U.S. companies, and the Municipal Manuals, which provides the issuers of municipal securities.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Historical reports for American companies from as far back as 1844.

SEDAR+
Access to public securities documents filed with Canadian Securities Administrators. Includes fillings submitted since 2016. Contact SEDAR+ for documents filled between 1997-2015.
EDGAR
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system provides free access to all filings a company makes with the SEC.

Key Business Ratios (D&B)
Contains industry benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in North America.
Winmo
Provides advertising spending costs for US brands, companies, and ad agencies. Use this resource to find specific people responsible for advertising/marketing for a brand or company. Select Creative Library to search AdForum for ads by brand, agency, industry, and other categories.